Skip to content

Cheating at cleaning the grouting around the kitchen tiles

September 25, 2012

After painting the grouting white

Even though it doesn’t feel like that long, we’ve been living in our flat for nearly four years now, and the grouting around the  tiles behind the oven in the kitchen has turned a horrible yellowed colour that no amount of scrubbing would shift. I even tried covering the area in thick bleach and then scrubbing with a toothbrush, but the grouting was determined to be a grungy ding dirty colour, no matter how much elbow grease I used!

Then, while browsing Homebase one day, I saw a tile grout ‘reviving pen’ for £7.99, and it gave me an idea. When I got home I gave the tiles behind the oven a good scrub to get off any surface dirt, and then got out my big pot of trusty white emulsion and started painting. That’s right, I painted the grouting, not worrying too much about getting paint on the tiles too, and then just wiped off the paint from the tiles with a damp cloth as I went along. It was really easy, I gave all the grouting two coats of paint, and they looked sparkly white and new again in no time, lovely!

All clean and white again!

It’s now been about a month since I did this, and the tiles are still in pristine white condition, and even though I wipe down the tiles behind the oven daily, the paint has stayed firmly put over the grouting and it looks fabulous.

So there you go, if your grouting around white tiles is looking discoloured, dirty and greasy, try this easy, cheap and effective tip!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 5:42 pm

    Wow! Keep us updated about whether it stays, as this might change my life. If you can find an easy way of keeping sealant looking white, too, then you should patent it and make your fortune!

  2. Grockle permalink
    September 25, 2012 8:52 pm

    Much easier (and cheaper) than a grout reviver pen. Why didn’t I think of using emulsion? I need to find something that would work in the bathroom.

  3. September 30, 2012 9:08 pm

    That is a great job. Between false tan and hair dye I have my shower ruined!

Leave a comment

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)