Skip to content

Custom Made T-Shirts Using Freezer Paper and Fabric Paint

September 20, 2012

I’ve been a bit quiet of late on the blogging front, not because I haven’t had anything to blog about (on the contrary, I have so many completed projects I still need to document) but just because life has become quite busy recently, what with the start of the new school term (and work) and various other family matters taking up my evenings.

One of the things I have been busy doing is making more of my own t-shirt designs. I have made a few t-shirts now using a method I learnt from other creative bloggers, which uses freezer paper to make stencils that can then be temporarily ironed onto a plain t-shirt in order to paint on any design of your choice using fabric paint. The great thing about this method is that it produces high quality results that last and look much much better than a printed iron-on t-shirt design.

After spending our summer bouldering in a place in France called Fontainebleau, both the boy and Mr. B came back requesting bouldering t-shirts (as a way, I suspect, of continuing to live the dream even once back into the daily grind of normal life). I quickly got to work, and after fiddling around on INKScape and GIMP for a few hours, had a perfect design that I nimbly turned into my stencil using the amazing freezer paper.

The great thing about making a stencil is that you actually get two stencils out of one cutting session, as you have a positive image and the negative image too (provided you cut your stencil out really really carefully with a sharp precision knife of course!). For both t-shirts I used white fabric paint and layered on three coats of paint.

two coats of fabric paint

Carefully peeling off the stencil

The Boy’s t-shirt

Mr. B’s t-shirt

You can see some of my other t-shirts here:

Muscle car t-shirt

Old Skool Record Player t-shirt

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2012 6:46 pm

    Great! I’ve never seen that technique before. Looks v cool🙂

  2. September 20, 2012 9:54 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try freezer paper stencilling for ages but I’m a bit put off by all the careful cutting out of the shapes. I’ll have to give it a go one day though. Your t-shirts looks awesome🙂

  3. September 21, 2012 9:54 am

    So clever! They look fantastic.

  4. September 24, 2012 9:56 am

    What a great technique! Looks tricky but well worth it. Where did you get your freezer paper? From what I can gather from your link, it’s not just the same as UK greaseproof paper because of the plasticcy side.

Trackbacks

  1. Little Custom-Made T-Shirts for a Baby « so resourceful
  2. Craft Fairs and Christmas Fairs ~ we’re good to go!! « MadeByYoursTruly

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

