Skip to content

Project Thirty Six: Painting the Bedroom Chest of Drawers

April 3, 2011

Well, I have had a very busy and highly productive week getting started on The Bedroom Masterplan, and am ready to start unveiling some of the finished projects!

First up, the old chest of drawers. Let’s start with some before and after photos.

Before:

After:

I know I say this a lot, but I absolutely love it! This project has turned out so well, despite my initial reservations about painting a perfectly good piece of (broken) furniture, and my slight panic that the colours would seem childish, doesn’t it look brilliant! I was thinking about buying some new, much bigger, knobs for the drawers, but actually I quite like the look or the original ones now, still in their unpainted state, and think I will keep them.

So, here’s what I, and the boy, did:

  • Bought four little tester pots of colour from Homebase: Lemon Tropic, Apple White, Mineral Mist and Sweet Pink. I already had the lilac grey for the top drawers from a previous project.
  • Adapted the colours slightly, adding some grey and green to the Mineral Mist as it was too blue for my liking, and adding some white to the Sweet Pink and Lemon Tropic to tone them down a bit.
  • The boy then set to work, removing all the knobs and painting the drawers.
  • While he was doing this, I painted the frame of the chest white. It had four coats of eggshell white.
  • I will be varnishing all the drawers in clear varnish, as tester pots of paint are just a matt emulsion and therefore not very hard-wearing, so adding a few topcoats of varnish helps to seal it all, makes it easier to clean and stops the paint chipping and scratching off easily.

Total cost: about £7

So Pretty!

 

I still haven’t fixed the runners for the drawers, which are broken, but that is another project, for another day, that I will tackle soon.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 2:39 pm

    It looks great!

  2. Sonia permalink
    April 3, 2011 5:32 pm

    Looks so fresh! Well done Boy and Woman too of course!

  3. April 3, 2011 8:19 pm

    Bargaineous!! Wheat a great project. I love those little paint testers. I am starting to get so seriously penny-pinching – I mean ingenious I am starting to wonder about making paints for Caveboy using earth from my garden. Or is that just letting him play with mud?

    • April 3, 2011 8:50 pm

      Oh do let him play with mud! So much fun.
      I’m sure I read somewhere about someone’s adventures in paint-making for their kids, will have to see if I can find the link! Another alternative is gloop, all children love plaing with gloop, which is basically just corn-flour mixed with water, messy at the time, but is fairly easy to clean up once dry. Cornflour is relatively cheap I think!

  4. April 4, 2011 7:36 pm

    Love it!! It looks so cheerful! Did you have to sand the drawers first?

  5. April 4, 2011 10:01 pm

    I love your colour choices. Paint testers are great for a project like this. I have a sorry looking chest of drawers in the garage these past few months which need some tlc.

  6. April 6, 2011 6:14 pm

    Very nice!

  7. April 9, 2011 12:46 pm

    Love it love it

    I’m going to have to do something lile this when dh is away (he would have a hissy, no vision )because I can see the end product is lovely and fits my brief for this year of colour

    • April 9, 2011 12:57 pm

      I made this one (and did the whole bedroom) while Mr. B was away, it’s the only way to do things, they like the end result but cannot imagine it!

  8. August 28, 2013 7:38 pm

    This is awesome, I love that new happy look

  9. May 17, 2014 9:30 am

    It looks great drawer you make it for the bedroom chest of drawers thanks for giving me such a good idea.

Trackbacks

  1. Decorating with Pastels

Leave a comment

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)