Skip to content

Refurbishing an Old Chest of Drawers

August 11, 2016

 

I fell in love with this little set of drawers when I saw it in a charity shop a few years ago, and still remember triumphantly carrying it home, after getting it for a very good price indeed.

Mr B and the boy curse these drawers, as lots of different things are kept in each drawer, but no one remembers which drawer holds what, so we inevitably find ourselves having to open and close each drawer as we search desperately for sellotape, a stapler or new batteries.

Over the years I have been slowly changing the little knobs for different interesting ones that I find on Ebay or little boutique shops. It still seemed just a little bit worn and sad looking, so I finally decided to give it a lick of paint and a little update. I got a tin of Everlong paint in ‘Cricket Pitch’ green, and painted the body of the chest of drawers. Everlong paint is a superior chalk paint inspired by the beauty of Northumberland,and I have to say it was difficult to choose just one colour, I wanted to buy all the colours and paint everything in the house. 🙂

I was very impressed with the paint, I have never used chalk paint before, always just slapping on whatever emulsion I already had, or using tester pots of paint and varnishing over the top, but this paint was very easy to use, doesn’t require primer or sanding (although I did sand down the chest of drawers as it was so battered and I wanted to smooth the surfaces). What amazed me was how quickly it dried too, even though I was painting in the freezing conservatory in the middle of October. I managed to do three coats in one afternoon. I decided to stain all the drawers, instead of painting them, and used Ronseal interior wax in Walnut finish, and I love the end result!

IMG_20151027_095125101

No comments yet

Leave a comment

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)