Skip to content

Scrap Fabric: A Selection of Baby Bibs

February 9, 2013

It seems that suddenly a lot of the people I know have either just had babies or are expecting the little bundles of joy, so I thought now would be a good time to learn how to make a few baby items. I figured as babies are so small anyway I could probaby make some pretty cute little things out of my fabric scraps, and I settled on making a vareity of bibs.

The first bib I made was a simple little number, reversible, trimmed with bias binding and finished of with a velcro closure. I used black and white floral fabric and a hot pink fabric for the binding (which looks red in the photos for some reason). I found a template through Pinterest that I then adapted slightly as I wasn’t happy with the shape, but it was pretty straightforward and simple. The lining is fleece.

 

 

After making one of these bibs I started wondering how I could improve on the design to make a more substantial bib that would actually offer some protection to clothes when a baby was eating. And that was when I remembered that I had bought some iron-on vinyl over a year ago and that this might actually be the project to use it on! This iron-on vinyl is pretty cool stuff, a bit like sticky-back plastic but for fabric. I was a bit wary of using it at first, but it ironed on painlessly and turned by normal fabric into the perfect fabric for a baby bib.

After a bit of thought I decided what I needed was a bib that was based on the same design as an apron, and I did a bit of online searching and found exactly what I had in mind: The Bapron! The best thing about this was it came complete with a wonderful little tutorial, so thnak you Craftiness in not Optional for taking the time to write up that tutorial. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to make a really good weaning bib.

Above you can see some of my larger scraps of fabric left over from other projects, that I got out to choose bib fabric from. I made lots of bias binding from some hot pink fabric and some yellow fabric.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2013 9:12 am

    I really love these bibs! Please can I have one for our LO? xxx

  2. Natasha permalink
    February 21, 2013 12:58 am

    Love these!

  3. April 24, 2013 2:03 pm

    Thank you for the tutorial!
    I’m going to need this soon

Leave a comment

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)