Skip to content

The Yarn Bombers have Finally Hit Cambridge!

July 14, 2012

This morning, as we were driving along Chesterton Road in the pouring rain, under a heavy grey sky, splashing through grey puddles, passing grey pedestrians walking along grey streets, suddenly I was bombarded with bright flashes of colour. I instinctively turned to the colour, and my jaw dropped open as my eyes rested on the most beautiful of sights. Anyone who knows Cambridge knows Chesterton Road is not exactly picturesque, so what I saw was even more eye catching for being so out of place. The grey bike racks opposite the Co-Op had been yarn bombed, guerrilla knitted, covered in knitted and crocheted bands of bright colour. What a sight it was! A few hours later I went back with my camera. Whoever is responsible for this, you are amazing and I love you! Please do more.

 

 

 

 

If I could knit I would do some of my own urban fibre art, to put a smile on people’s faces and brighten up this wet summer we are having. Yarn bombing (also known as yarnstorming, guerrilla knitting, urban knitting and graffiti knitting) has been around for about 9 years now (probably longer), and has turned the matronly pastime of knitting and cozying up with blankets into a rather cool form of urban art and beautiful, cozy vandalism. Long may it last.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 10:40 am

    LOVE THIS

    when in Bristol a couple of weeks ago, I spotted some fab yarn bombing, it really made me smile🙂

  2. July 19, 2012 8:00 pm

    Fab, lovely and bright! Now, when’s it your turn?

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

