Skip to content

A Spring Clean for the Sewing Machine

July 9, 2012

Now that I’ve got my motivation and inspiration back to be creative, I decided the first thing I had to do was give my sewing machine a good old service and clean, especially as I hadn’t done it since the Made-It market sewing madness and letting the kids use it to make their purses and wallets. After all that abuse my poor old sewing machine was begging to be cleaned, and boy did I clean it! If you own a sewing machine and you’ve never done this before then you really need to. As Mr. B explained to me, all engines need regular maintenance and services, not just car engines.

The first thing I did was unscrew every last screw I could find and take off the covers from the machine. I then wiped away all the accumulated fluff and dust from every part I could get to, using cotton buds (Q-Tips) and an old soft cloth. Once I’d got rid of all the gunge I oiled all the moving parts and then greased up the gears with something called Copaslip (Mr. B told me to do this, and supplied the Copaslip, I didn’t even know there was such a thing as grease, every day I learn something new).

It felt good to clean my machine, like all good spring cleans it marks a beginning of new things, and hopefully my new shining fluff-free machine will inspire me to get on with actually sewing some more stuff (like the quilt I started about a hundred years ago that we don’t talk about).

I did sew something at the weekend actually, a personalised pencil case someone ordered from me, which I will blog about tomorrow (probably).

In other news, I ran a whopping 6.4miles (just over 10km) today, which is the furthest I have ever run. It took me ages, I was very slow, and hot, and sweaty, but I did it, and my knees only hurt a little bit, so it’s a personal best for me! I won’t be having any insomnia tonight, that’s for sure (although I’ll be aching tomorrow).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

