Skip to content

A King’s Costume for The Boy

June 7, 2012

For The Boy’s Jubilee party at school all the children were asked to dress up as Royalty, and The Boy chose to be a king. He planned his costume  himself, and then we went to John Lewis together and he told me what he wanted and I bought it for him. His plan was to make a red silky cape with gold trim and fur around the front, make some blue silky shorts with elasticated legs, buy some long white socks to wear under them, wear a black t-shirt and make a crown. He worked busily for two evenings, enlisting my help when he needed to make the shorts or needed help using the sewing machine, and produced his fantastic costume. I should confess now that I interfered assisted quite a lot, and we used the pattern I made for his shorts last year to make the ones for the costume. The Boy used a glue gun to attach the gold cord and fur trim to his cape, and used an existing cape from his dressing up box as a template for this one. The crown took a long time to make, and The Boy used pictures of the crown jewels to model his on.

When he walked into class on Thursday morning in his costume he received a spontaneous round of applause from all his classmates, which made him puff up with pride, and then he won the best crown competition later that day! He is very proud of his costume and is already talking about the next costume he is planning on making.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 3:48 pm

    Fantastic Costume! My daughter puts me to shame with sewing and now your son. I shall hang my head in shame. Big well done to him.

  2. June 14, 2012 8:31 pm

    He looks fantastic! Very regal indeed

  3. June 16, 2012 12:30 pm

    Love the blog. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award, as I want people to see what I read and inspire me. Thank you. xx

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

