Skip to content

Making a Fabric Bread Basket

May 10, 2012

A few months ago I received an email from one of my blog readers asking if I could help them. They wanted a bread basket, a very specific bread basket, and had searched high and low without any luck, so then asked me if I could possibly make them the bread basket they were after. What she was describing sounded a lot like a giant version of my little fabric dishes I made last year, so we came up with a deal. She would source the exact fabric she was after during her Honeymoon to France in the summer, and I would get to work making a prototype.

Home-made bread and soup for lunch

It was nice to be sewing again after what seems like such a long break, and I made this bread basket in no time at all, using the same method as I used to make my fabric dishes. I added some loops to tie a fabric covering to the top of the bread basket to help keep the bread/croissants warm, and used an old shirt of my dad’s for the lining. I am very attached to this shirt and quite sentimental about it, I have so many good memories of my dad wearing it, so I almost ripped it out of his hands when he offered it to me as a source of fabric due to an irremovable paint stain on one of the sleeves.

cutting corners

I like our new bread basket, and even though I didn’t even know we needed one, now that we have one we use it all the time!

I really think my next project ought to be making a new cover for my ironing board, it is in an appalling state! I do apologise.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. racheltripp permalink
    May 10, 2012 9:39 pm

    Oh hooray a post! We have a rather more traditional ‘basket’ type breadbasket. But like you I can’t now imagine what we did without it. Looking forward to reading more!

    • May 10, 2012 9:41 pm

      It was your comment encouraging me back that gave me the motivation I needed to write another post, so thank you!🙂

  2. May 11, 2012 8:23 am

    How funny, I’ve just picked up a pattern (from a book in the library) about how to make one of these – the only difference is they attached ribbons at the edge of each hexagon and then tie the corners together. Looks great! Nice to see you posting again😀

    • May 11, 2012 2:56 pm

      oooh that sounds interesting!

      • May 14, 2012 12:26 pm

        I made one over the weekend and will post about it later on today when I’ve got a spare moment. I meant octagon though, not hexagon. Doh!

  3. May 11, 2012 2:30 pm

    Love the breadbasket – I’ve seen them in France but hadn’t thought to make one myself. Yours is an improvement on some of the floral ones I’ve seen🙂

  4. May 28, 2012 9:23 am

    Just luckily stumbled on your blog, it is fantastic! Thank you for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. Fabric basket « MadeByYoursTruly

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

