Skip to content

Well Hello There!

April 12, 2012

I am shocked at myself for neglecting my blog for so long, but in my defence I can think of plenty of excuses as to why I failed to write any new blog entries in such a long time. I suffered writer’s block, was taking a break after completing all those projects in 2011, was busy working/playing/washing my hair, was enjoying other things, filling in application forms for new jobs, learning to drive and trying to spend more time with The Boy. I don’t know exactly how I came to neglect my blog so well, but I do know that the more time passed without me opening up the laptop and sitting down to write a new entry, the harder it was to get back into it. Suddenly all my projects seemed unworthy or writing about, I was intimidated by other blogs that used to inspire and encourage me, or I felt the projects I was working on (more about them later) were so complicated I didn’t know where to start.

Anyway, I have just got back from a lovely long holiday visiting friends in Qatar, and I feel rested and ready to tackle this head on and start blogging again. My sincerest apologies for keeping you all waiting for so long, and thank you to the kind readers who wrote to me asking if everything was alright. I will admit that my self-esteem was going through a low phase, as it often does by the end of winter, but now that I’ve had my dose of sun and desert, and spring has arrived  in England, I feel back on top form!

While in Qatar I couldn’t resist going to a few fabric stalls in the souq, which reignited my spark for fabric hoarding sewing, and I bought a selection of interesting fabrics that I can’t wait to use in some new projects I am thinking about. Here’s a sneak peek at the newest additions to my stash:

The first two fabrics I bought from a men’s fabric shop (yes, they have different fabric shops for men and women out there, a lot of the men get their clothes custom-made by tailors, hence the abundance of shops selling fabric for men’s clothes). I bought a metre of each of these fabrics, at just under £6 per metre. I am planning on using these two fabrics for making some shorts for The Boy in time for summer:

Grey and purple stripes

Purple check fabric

The next four fabrics I bought from a tiny shop in the souq that was crammed full of bolts and bolts of colourful, often sequin-clad, psychadelically patterned fabric, but I managed to find some simpler designs amongst the carnival of colour,and I bought a metre of each at only, wait for it, £1.50 per metre! I couldn’t resist, and even threw caution to the wind and bought some very bold green fabric with bright yellow, orange and pink flowers all over it. No idea what I’ll use it for, but think it would be brilliant as a lining for a bag.

Pale blue and pale pink ditsy flower fabric

crazy green fabric

The last fabric reminds me a bit of the kind of patterns you might find in White Stuff. I am toying with the idea of using it to make a skirt or tunic top. What do you think?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2012 2:36 pm

    Ohhhh you should make a corset out of the crazy green fabric!

  2. April 12, 2012 3:24 pm

    Welcome back! All your loyal followers are still here and I well imagine we all know what it means to have writers block. I love all the different fabrics they are just beautiful and can’t wait to see the things you decide to make with them!

  3. April 12, 2012 6:30 pm

    I love your blog – so many great projects! Very inspiring. I wonder if we may live near to each other? I have heard about The Beaderie – but haven’t actually made it there yet🙂

    • April 12, 2012 7:00 pm

      Oooh if we do live near each other you should definitely go to the beaderie, well worth a visit if you’re in town!

  4. April 12, 2012 6:31 pm

    By the way – yes – tunic and skirt🙂

  5. April 12, 2012 11:41 pm

    Welcome back!🙂 I love that green fabric, it’s gorgeous. It’d definitely make a lovely bag lining. Can’t wait to see what you turn it into🙂

    • April 13, 2012 7:34 am

      Thanks mamagwen! I wish I’d bought more of that fabric now! I have so many different ideas for it.

  6. April 13, 2012 8:54 am

    what lovely fabrics! I could have done with some of that for my bunting…but then I’d have had to make the flags myself😉

  7. April 13, 2012 8:02 pm

    Yes you do like to hoard fabric!

  8. April 14, 2012 8:48 am

    Glad you’ve found your mojo again. I know what you mean. Sometimes I write blog posts and I’m bored just writing them so thing they must be really dull to read. Look forward to seeing some of your new projects.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

