Skip to content

A Toy Gun Bandolier

January 29, 2012

Like all young, naive parents-to-be, before I had children I had all these ideals and dreams about the kind of parent I would be, and the kind of children I would have. Most of them were, in hindsight, laughably unrealistic (my toddler would always be clean, I would never raise my voice, I wouldn’t need to use bribes as my children would want to do what I told them, my children would play with educational wooden toys and not watch television, and my children would never play with guns). Oh how I laugh at my naivety now! I wasn’t too bad, I have known much worse, and I think I sobered up pretty quickly once reality hit, but it took a while for me to shed some of my ideals.

One of the things I eased up on pretty quickly was the idea that I wouldn’t allow my children to play with guns, and that, if I never had them in the house they wouldn’t want to play with them anyway, right? Wrong. Little boys in particular, will make weapons out of anything, and being someone who likes to pick her battles, I did lots of research and decided that, in the grand scheme of things, a few toy guns and swords added to the dressing up box were not going to turn The Boy into a violent thug, or a gun-wielding psychopath or even someone who thought violence was acceptable. So I decided this was something I wouldn’t be battling over. Age-appropriate films and video games, on the other hand, I will be battling over.

One of The Boy’s best friends seems to always have a toy gun or sword on him, so when his birthday came up and The Boy asked me if I could make him some sort of gun holster I thought it would be a great idea. I searched online for a tutorial and all I found was this Snack Bandolier by WhipStitch, but it was easily adapted to turn it into a toy gun bandolier! I used denim from an old pair of The Boy’s trousers, and old maroon men’s shirt and some elastic I bought at a charity shop for 20p to make this.

 

 

The recipient of the Gun Bandolier was very excited when he opened the present, and his parents thought is was a great idea too, as his mum said she wouldn’t have to carry his guns around in her handbag any more😀 Now I just need to make two more, one for The Boy and one for his other best friend.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2012 6:30 pm

    oh you made one!! its been on my list for a while but as ever its festered under a pile of UFO’s – looks great!

  2. January 30, 2012 1:50 am

    LOL, every play gun-totin’ cowboy ought to have one of these. I bet he loves it! Great idea! Laurie

  3. January 30, 2012 8:44 am

    I agree with what you say re the toys – generations of children before him didn´t turn into gun toting maniacs! I bet he has so much fun with this🙂

  4. January 30, 2012 1:41 pm

    What a fantastic idea!
    Like you I naively thought I’d be able to side step the gun issue. I remember years ago bumping into a mum shopping with two young boys, who were shooting each other with rolls of tin foil. She looked at me carrying my tiny son and said, “They can make anything into a weapon”
    How right she was! And when I got over the horror of him being given his first toy gun, I realised it was better all round to go with the flow. Now we have a serious arsenal of weapons for every occasion, so think the bandolier could come in very handy!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

