Skip to content

2011: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

January 6, 2012

With all those projects completed, what could be less predictable than a 2011 project review!

Join me on a pseudo adventure as I reveal a unique behind the scenes look into ‘living with the projects’

First off, “Project Four: Spool Thread ” This was in the early days and made Freshly Pressed on WordPress, rocketing my blog to instant fame. You will be pleased to know that this simple and effective piece of furniture is still standing proud on my shelf holding all of my threads.

Secondly, A less successful project, Project Seven: Well Who’d Have Thought it, I Just Made a Shoe Cubby!” This project was ambitious and ultimately marred by an over zealous health and safety executive in our flats. The installation was most thorough, copius amounts of glue, nails and wood filler made hasty removal in the event of a fire almost impossible and so of course it had to go. At this point I invite you to review the before and after pics as a means to illustrate that health and safety is there to protect us all.

before (and present)

Against 'elf and safetly (apparantly)

In the spirit of resourcefulness I advertised it as a giveaway and thankfully a lucky gum tree’er came and picked it up for free.

Next, An easy project for little effort and maximum reward; “Project Forty: Transforming the Kitchen, Thanks to a 99p Winning Bid on Ebay” This transforms the look of the kitchen, often visitors mistake my flat for some kind of manor house, well, perhaps not, but what a difference a bit of exuberance makes to the washing up.

Whilst we are by the sink I remind you of this; “Project Thirty Two: Fixing the Washing Machine” The damn thing still leaves a moist patch from time to time. Anyways I sent Mr B out on his bike with one simple task- to source the correct washers to replace old with new. He ended up with lots of little bags of them, all shapes and sizes, none of which were the correct size. However he redeemed himself by asserting the following principle: If you stuff as many washers in the inlet pipe as physically possible and screw it up no tighter than two grunts and a groan it will, inevitably, become watertight.

A never used prototype, “Project Seventy Five: A Car Seat Organiser for The Boy” This was dutifully installed, lots of things were shoved into its cavernous pockets and then the elastic snapped, its own success ultimately its own downfall! It is now forlornly stuffed behind the sofa waiting to be repaired. IT will probably stay there.

There was also the incident of the Very Ugly Pincushion, and the sunhat that didn’t fit. And remember that quilt that I was going to make in time for winter? Well, the 725 squares I cut out are still neatly stacked in their shoe box on top of my wardrobe. Perhaps I will finish the quilt by the end of 2012?

I finished off the year with the Made it market! This was an absolutely epic portion of 2011, and if someone had told me at the beginning of 2011 that I would have a stall at a large craft fair I would have laughed at them in disbelief. Lots of projects listed on my site were produced and put on sale. The stall was overflowing with all my creations, I sold far more than I had imagined, but what a relief it was when it was finally all over!

As a final reminder of what a great year I have had, I have produced a slide showcase for you to all enjoy.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2011: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, posted with vodpod

Don’t forget to leave a comment in order to enter my Blog Giveaway, the giveaway finishes on Monday 9th January.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 11:21 pm

    Nice work very amusing, even you make mistakes hey😉

    • January 6, 2012 11:30 pm

      Everyone makes mistakes sometimes! It’s the best way to learn. But I am always right, right? Thanks for your help x

  2. January 6, 2012 11:37 pm

    It’s a pleasure, I hope your readers like the slideshow, as it turned out to be a lot of effort from both of us in the end!

  3. January 7, 2012 9:36 am

    It´s been a busy year by the look of things! Great taps and “pah” to the ´elf and safety people!

  4. January 7, 2012 3:39 pm

    Love the spool-tidy!

  5. January 7, 2012 9:45 pm

    What a great year you’ve had! Very inspiring to see all your projects and your enthusiasm. Also very heartening to see your successes *and* failures. Looking forward to seeing what comes next.

  6. January 7, 2012 10:36 pm

    Your stall looks amaaaaaazing. I’m a knitter but I have been given a sewing book for xmas so quilting here I come! Race ya?
    Going to have a proper look on your blog soon

  7. Catherine permalink
    January 8, 2012 2:49 am

    You’ve had a fantastic year by the looks of things. Well done! you put me to shame, I’ve done so little in the last 12 months!

  8. SilviSherr permalink
    January 8, 2012 12:51 pm

    Since I have not been reading your Blog for long I find it great to see all your Projects. And we all have our ‘Whoops that didn’t quiet work’ Moments!

  9. January 8, 2012 1:19 pm

    Well done!

    And now on to the 2012 challenge….

  10. January 8, 2012 7:09 pm

    I’m still loving the spool holder – I’m a bit of a thread whore, trawling eBay for miniature drawers, tins and thread holders…I really should have a ‘thread’ category on my blog! I think your bobbin board is ace. What’s the plan for 2012?

    • January 8, 2012 8:55 pm

      I am still trying to come up with a suitable plan for 2012 quarkee, but I will definitely be embarking on bigger projects, finishing that quilt, improving my woodworking skills and tackling the never-ending job of making my house look nicer🙂

  11. instantlyinterruptible permalink
    January 9, 2012 3:37 pm

    I can’t tell you how happy your post has made me. So often I don’t start a project because I think other people’s work is always so lovely how can I even begin to make something that lovely. Or I start something and get interrupted and some how it’s still not finished.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

