Skip to content

Project One Hundred and Ten: An Apron with Ruffle Trim

December 29, 2011

A colleague commissioned me to make this for her daughter as a Christmas present, and she specifically asked for it to have a ruffled bottom edge in different fabric to the main apron. I didn’t have time to buy any cotton tape for the straps so I made the straps out of the same fabric as the ruffled bottom, and it looked good. My colleague was very pleased with the results and that’s the important thing! The main floral fabric was from some curtains I bought at a yard sale made with old Laura Ashley fabric. The pair of curtains only cost me £5 and in total there was about 6 metres of fabric plus 6 metres of lining fabric included, a pretty good haul for a yard sale in my opinion!

 

Only one more project to write up, and I’ll have achieved my target! Woop. I have already started thinking about what to do mext year, and have some pretty epic projects lined up that I can’t wait to start and blog about.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2011 5:54 pm

    Congratulations on what you´ve done this year, and I love the apron. I made one for a friend at Christmas from an Ikea pillow case (1euro in the bargain bin!). Not enough fabric in it though for a lovely frill like yours😦

  2. December 31, 2011 7:18 am

    Looks gorgeous! X

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

