Skip to content

Tuesday’s Resourceful Little Idea: Wrapping Presents ~ A Christmas Special

December 6, 2011

I haven’t really been keeping up posting resourceful little ideas on Tuesdays, mostly because I ran out of ideas😀 and partly because I wasn’t organised enough, but I am resurrecting it this Tuesday for a one off Poncetastic Christmas special, full of inspiration, help and ideas for how to wrap your presents in resourceful ways.

I love wrapping presents, and particularly like using brown paper from the Post Office and then jazzing up the parcel with ribbons, tags, pretty trims and fabric scraps. I made a discovery a while ago (when The Boy had used all the sellotape up making paper aeroplanes) that a glue gun makes wrapping presents so much easier than using tape, and gives a cleaner finish. If you have a glue gun I highly recommend it. I also usually fold the outer edge of my paper over twice making a little neat hem before sticking it down, highly unnecessary of course and barely noticed by the recipient of the present but it does look a little bit neater.

I have been browsing Pinterest for hours now collecting loads of ideas that I really want to share on my blog. I’m not going to write a lot, I think most of the pictures are self-explanatory, and all of the photos will have links to their original sources (often wonderuful tutorials) so just click on the picture if you want more information about any of the wrapping styles.

brown paper packages tied up with string
great use of felt and wool (yarn)
really simple

how to tie bows on presents

use buttons to decorate presents

buttons and pretty paper flowers

using rainbow yarn as ribbon on presents. Probably takes ages but looks great!
wrapping presents with fabric
great way to use up those old stamp collections!
sheet music and a bell, so cute!
using maps as wrapping paper, my favourite!
Using scrabble letters to label presents. I love this blog.
How to make a pompom from tulle
Using doilies when wrapping presents
a red snowflake
I love this, wrapping paper form magazines and comics
more brown paper, doilies and buttons
make your own lace sticky tape (or buy it from this seller on Etsy)
paper gift bags with pattern and tutorial
turn old cardboard tubes into little gift boxes
monograms on brown paper
more brown paper wrapping ideas
Poncetastic wrapping using natural embelishments
loads of ideas for DIY gift tags here
fabric wine bottle wrapping

wrapping a bottle of wine with a pair of knee socks

wine bottle bag with tutorial

I hope all of these images have helped inspire you with your present wrapping this year. I particularly like finding ways of reusing things I already have to wrap presents, rather than buying wrapping paper that will just end up in the bin. I should confess now that I keep wrapping paper from presents I get given, and iron it to get out the creases and then reuse it. Same for ribbons. Fabric scraps are great for using when wrapping presents, even if all you do is vut long thin strips up to use as ribbon. Brown paper is brilliant, sturdy, cheap, usually made from recycled paper, and perfect for personalising.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 10:56 pm

    Love em’

  2. December 7, 2011 8:30 am

    What lovely pics! So many brilliant ideas… am definitely going to try some of them. Now, just need to find some doillies…

  3. December 7, 2011 9:02 am

    Some fantastic ideas here – thanks!

  4. December 7, 2011 7:32 pm

    These are all fantastic. So many great ideas for all year round.

  5. December 15, 2011 2:39 pm

    Question – When you iron wrapping paper, do you put a tea towel over the top, pattern side down or what?

    I am saving all wrapping paper this year, but have already thrown creased bits away, not realising you could iron them!?!

    • December 15, 2011 5:25 pm

      Hi Sarah. It depends on the paper really, I kepp my iron heat setting low, and either just iron the paper itself or put some cotton fabric between the paper and iron. Doesn’t always get out big creases but smooths out crumpled paper. Just have a go and see what works.

  6. sara permalink
    May 4, 2014 4:57 am

    Oh, I’m so sad! I have this page pinned on my pinterest for my deep abiding love for your packages and when I came to check it out again today, none of the photos would load. 😦 Is there something wrong on my end? Thank you so much!

    • May 6, 2014 8:51 pm

      Sara I am so sorry, I think it is at my end! It seems a lot of the pictures I uploaded to my site via pinterest have disappeared, I can only guess it might mean the owners of the original photos have taken them off the internet? I am looking into it as it is rubbish!

Trackbacks

  1. How to be a wrap star « The Treasure Hunter – well-designed, quirky and fun interiors, homewares, gifts, jewellery, stationery and accessories
  2. Fabulous Ideas For Wrapping Christmas Presents | Baby Freebies, Shopping Deals, & Family Money Saving Tips | Playpennies.com

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

