Skip to content

Time to Hang up the Advent Calendar!

December 1, 2011

Last night I got down the Christmas boxes, looking for the advent calendar I made last year (so sadly cannot call a project) and Mr. B and I got all excited (The Boy was in bed with a fever, otherwise he would have been excited too!), it’s Christmas time! Officially, as of today, we can get all Christmassy, starting with the advent calendar.

As I said, I made this last year, and I really have no good explanation as to why I designed such strange looking stockings, like little upside down candy canes, I think I just got my Christmas images mixed up in my head 🙂 I never celebrated Christmas as a child so am still learning (we lived in a country where no one celebrated Christmas).

The Boy likes to count down the days till Christmas, rather than starting at 1 and going to 25, so our calendar starts at 24 and goes down to 1. Not all the mini stockings have numbers on them, but there is a number on each painted peg. This year, to make a change from chocolate, I bought Polish cow sweets from the Polish shop in town. I don’t know if the Poles call them ‘cow sweets’ but that’s what we always called them when I was growing up and we’d buy big boxes of them from the little corner shop near us. If you have never tried these, they are absolutely delicious, something like fudge but crumbly, not chewey at all. They’re lovely! As well as the cow sweets, I put some 20p coins in some of the stockings, just for a change and because I know how excited it will make The Boy!

Today though, The Boy is very ill with a fever and vomiting, so sadly he is tucked up in bed and not able to enjoy his first advent treat 😦

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 2:01 pm

    Love this (hate the boy being poorly though)

  2. Sonia permalink
    December 1, 2011 9:05 pm

    So sorry to hear the boy is so poorly. I hope he feels much better soon. I love your advent decorations, what fun! X

  3. December 15, 2011 6:53 pm

    Lovely advent decorations. They’re really unique. Hope the kids are up and running for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

