Skip to content

All Ready for my First Ever Craft Fair!

November 25, 2011

Finally, the preparations that have been going on for months have come to an end, these last two weeks in particular have been manic, but finally everything is ready. I have time to post again! It was touch and go whether I would actually have time to write this post, but I really wanted to, so I diligently got all the final things done and everything packed up and ready to go this evening, and can settle down to write this with a well-earned glass of wine while the cake that I just made bakes in the oven and the boys play Gran Turismo on the Playstation.

So, the Made-It Market is tomorrow, Saturday 26th November, at the Guildhall in Cambridge, come along if you’re in the area and say hi! It is my first ever craft fair and I am all a flutter with emotions and nerves. I am excited, nervous and a little bit worried, all mixed into one. Will people love me creations or loathe them? Will they just amble past ambivalently, without even giving me a second glance? Will I stick out like the amateur that I am, lost in the sea of expertise and professional craftspeople? Who knows, all will be revealed tomorrow, and I shall report back once the fair is over on how it all went.

I am pleased that I managed to make such a variety of things, hopefully there will be something for everyone. Want to know what I made? No? Oh well, it’s my blog and I’m going to post a boring list anyway 🙂

5 large shoulder bags

7 small shoulder bags

3 roll-up spanner cases

4 pairs of oven gloves

3 cafetiere cozies

4 large wallets

8 small wallets

2 roll-up car carries

4 hot mats

12 zip-up purses

12 prism pouches

3 boxy pouches

40 coasters

10 snack sacks

12 make your own mini bunting kits (I am particularly excited about these, mostly because I designed the packaging myself and love it!, will blog about them later)

3 sets of nesting dishes

8 crystal glass snowflake Christmas decorations

60 scrap fabric baubles

Phew, that’s all of it, I think!

I also made a wooden display tree to hang all of my baubles and crystal snowflakes on, and crazily made 20 fabric business cards.I have put price tags onto everything and found little boxes to help display things in.

I have packed a large tablecloth, my money apron, some old French wine crates to help display things, some battery powered farly lights to decorate my tree, 100 brown paper bags to pack purchases in, a framed price list, a string on bunting to hang around the table, a notebook and pens, a bottle of water, scissors and some blank labels, my float and my camera. What am I forgetting? <worried>

Wish me luck! Once this craft fair is over I will have lots of spare time and I intend to fill it by blogging more tutorials, including the things I made for my craft fair like my fabric business cards and the wooden display tree. I will be having a (little) break from sewing to give the boys a break from the rattling noise of the machine that has filled the nights for the last few months.

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2011 10:46 pm

    Good luck. Look forward to seeing the pictures.

  2. November 26, 2011 12:33 am

    Love the shoulder bags! Best of luck! 🙂

  3. Cloud Spotter permalink
    November 26, 2011 12:52 am

    See you tomorrow.

  4. Sarah permalink
    November 26, 2011 2:33 am

    Your stuff will look fabulous and no way anyone will think it looks anything but very well made.
    can’t wait to see the pics and tutorials

  5. November 26, 2011 8:12 am

    It’s going to be a sell out!

  6. Frances permalink
    November 26, 2011 8:05 pm

    C and I absolutely loved seeing your creations take centre stage, today. You had no need to worry about looking like an amateur- your stand looked fabulous, smart, colourful and professional. Well done!!x
    ps: I’m sure my step-dad is going to really like his spanner case, too.

    • November 26, 2011 8:27 pm

      Thank you Frances, for such kind words! I have a great time at the fair, it was brilliant, am shattered now! Thanks for coming down, it was lovely to see you both.

Trackbacks

  1. A Spring Clean for the Sewing Machine « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

