Skip to content

Project Ninety Eight: Four Pairs of Oven Gloves

November 14, 2011

Oven gloves are such an easy thing to make, the most time consuming part of the whole process being making the binding. I made all four pairs in one night, it was a very satisfying and productive evening! I finally managed to get the hang of going round corners with binding while making these. I wouldn’t say I’ve mastered the technique yet but there is definately improvement compared with my earlier attempts, looking back.

I used insul-bright wadding for these oven gloves, as it isn’t bulky to sew through but is really insulating, I recommend you order some if you are thinking of making oven gloves, tea cozies or pot holders. I always order mine from Doughty’s online shop, I recommend them if you are in the UK, they are very reliable and I always receive my parcels within a few days of placing my order.

The last pair of oven gloves pictured, with the green spotty fabric, are my favourite ones. What about you? Which ones are your favourite? Do you like these oven gloves or do you prefer the individual oven mitts? Which ones do you use in your kitchen?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Narcisse permalink
    November 14, 2011 8:47 am

    The last two are the ones I like the most. Well done you, they look fab!
    You inspire me a lot to get things done.
    Seeing your recommendations here, I bought a Kath Kidston “Sew” book.
    But lately I am stuck😦
    My mashine keeps pulling the thread.
    Can you suggest if it is being too tight or too lose?
    Bacause I asked my hubby to put some oil and he said he kept rolling the tension, so since then it keeps snapping and I can not go an inch without the thread being torn :”( Help!!!

    • November 14, 2011 3:58 pm

      Oh no! Without actually seeing what is going erong I can’t say exactly what will work to help, but have you cleaned out all the lint from the machine? If it is the tension I would suggest getting ascrap of fabric and starting right down at the first setting do a row of stitches, then do a new row for each setting and see which stitches look best.

      What about your bobbin tension? Sometimes I forget about that and then get big loops of thread in my stitches if it is too loose, or the thread snaps if it is too tight, if you have a manual look at what is says about setting the bobbin tension and play around with that.

      Did your hubby over-oil the machine? Because that can also cause missed stitches and could be causing your thread to break? Could you wipe some of the oil off with a q-tip?

      Good luck, I hope the problem gets sorted, I hate it when my machine starts acting up!😦

  2. November 14, 2011 10:17 am

    love these, were they hard?

    Its the binding round the edges that scares me >.<

    • November 14, 2011 3:54 pm

      Emily the binding was the only hard part of this. I don’t like using binding, but after watching many many youtube tutorials on how to attach binding I am no longer scared of it!

  3. November 14, 2011 8:30 pm

    They look so gorgeous! I was thinking about making some baby ones to go with a friend’s daughter’s play kitchen …. they would look adorable.

    • November 14, 2011 9:11 pm

      Oooh yes, what a good idea, mini ones for play kitchens! You really should make some.

  4. November 14, 2011 10:13 pm

    I use the oven gloves. These are lovely. They would be perfect christmas presents.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Ninety Nine: Three Cafetiere Cozies « so resourceful
  2. All Ready for my First Ever Craft Fair! « so resourceful
  3. How I Fared at my First Craft Fair « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

