Skip to content

Project Ninety Six: Three Roll-Up Car Carry Cases

November 10, 2011

 

After seeing a similar thing on Pinterest, I knew I had to make one of these for The Boy, and finally I got the chance to have a go a few days ago. My first attempt was fine, it did the job, but I wasn’t entirely happy with the road, it looked a bit too simple, so I then improved the design and made two more, to sell on my stall.

 

First attempt at a car carry case

 

Second attempt, much better!

I found the car fabric in John Lewis (well, actually The Boy found it, I was busy looking at the pretty new Amy Butler fabrics they had in) and bought some red cotton fabric to go with it. I used a strip of fabric form some old black cords The Boy had outgrown for the first car carry case I made, and then used some dark gray cotton fabric for the roads in the second two carry cases. As well as the tie, I also attached a magnetic clasp to help keep it closed.

 

For the roads in the second two carry cases, I made the white markings by simply stitching lines along the fabric using the button-hole setting on my machine (basically a very small close zig-zag stitch) and the end result was really effective.

 

 

 

I think these are great little things to make if you have a car obsessed child, the rolled-up carry case fits easily into a handbag and would be great for entertaining a small child when out and about. As well as keeping all the cars together it provides a road to play with the cars on. I was thinking it would be really cool to extend it by having lots of pieces of road that you can attach to each other with Velcro to make longer roads (a bit like the wooden Brio train sets, but with fabric) but that’s a project for another day, when I’m not busy trying to make supplies to sell on my stall. I recommend this to anyone, it’s a really easy project to do.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 3:32 am

    Fab!!
    I want to make one too (when I get a sewig machine)

  2. November 11, 2011 7:13 am

    Cute! Even I want one!

  3. November 11, 2011 8:12 am

    I love those! I know two little boys I know who would love them too. Are you making any to sell?

    • November 11, 2011 8:23 am

      Hi Clare, thank you! Yes I am making some to sell. I have a craft fair coming up that I will be taking them to and I also make things to order for people.

      • November 11, 2011 8:26 am

        How much do you sell them for? Do you have a Folksy or Etsy shop?

      • November 11, 2011 4:21 pm

        Hi Clare, I don’t have a folksy or etsy shop (yet), but I sell them for £10. Email me at resourcefulrose at gmail dot com if you would like me to make one for you.

  4. November 11, 2011 10:29 am

    Oh, that is wonderful. Am wondering if my son would still want one of those, he does still like his cars.

    I love the idea of making them from old clothes – would be a fun way of keeping some old baby clothes. I cannot bear to part with them but would love if someone would rework them into something useful.

    • November 11, 2011 4:23 pm

      MmeLindor my son is 8 and loves it! One of the reasons I have so many of the boy’s old clothes to work with is because I cannot bear to part with them either!

  5. Cloud Spotter permalink
    November 11, 2011 11:07 am

    what a great idea.

  6. Rachel permalink
    January 4, 2012 3:29 pm

    these are great – I wonder if you could expand the range, my daughter had a phase of wanting to carry all her peppa pig characters around, if you did one for those the pockets could be sleeping bags and they could have a park to play on or something. or just a road to learn how to cross safely maybe!

    • January 4, 2012 4:05 pm

      Rachel that is a brilliant idea, you could certainly expand the range and have poskets for all sorts of things, with a suitable playmat. You could just have a maze maybe…

Trackbacks

  1. All Ready for my First Ever Craft Fair! « so resourceful
  2. How I Fared at my First Craft Fair « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

