Skip to content

Project Ninety Three: Turning Old Jeans into Little Fabric Dishes

October 26, 2011

The boy has shot up recently, growing about a foot overnight, and suddenly all his trousers are flapping around above his ankles, giving everyone a great view of his mis-matched (and probably holey) socks. He is also still perfecting his amazing skill of putting holes in the knees of trousers within minutes of putting them on in the morning (apparently he and his friends play some sliding game in the playground that involves taking a running start and then gliding along on their knees to see who gets the furthest!). So, all in all, his wardrobe needed a major overhaul, and he needed a talking to re looking after his clothes and not sliding on his knees in the playground (his response, when confronted, “but you can fix them mum, you fix everything, just sew a patch on”!).

So, anyway, I am waffling. What I am building up to is that he had about four pairs of jeans that were both too shrot and too ripped to be passed on to anyone else, so I decided to add the denim to my fabric stash and make these little fabric dishes with them.

They proved really easy and simple to make, consisting of octagons of fabric sewn together and then every other side pinched together and stitched up to form a dish. This reminded me a bit of origami actually (not that I’ve ever tried origami mind).

I’m going to use these around the house as useful little containers to keep things safe in, loose change by the front door, my earings by my bed, in the bathroom for rings and jewellery to stay safe while I’m washing my hands, and other little useful things. I’ll probably sell some on my stall too. This is a great project to use up scrap fabric and old jeans. You can make all sorts of sizes, mine are quite small but the basic design would work with all sorts of shapes. I might try making one that fits A4 paper for my workstation.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 9:25 am

    What a clever idea! These little fabric dishes are fantastic and very cute, I think I’ll have to make some too🙂 We never know what to do with loose change and other little bits and pieces and they end up taking up a large amount of the kitchen bench, so these would be perfect for that.

  2. October 26, 2011 9:38 am

    Clever idea! Great that its recycling too.

  3. SilviSherr permalink
    October 26, 2011 10:23 am

    I think they are great. Another use for them would be…different sizes into a draw to organize all those little bits that keep flying about when you open and close the Draws

  4. October 26, 2011 6:31 pm

    These are so cute. I love the lining fabric you put with the denim

Trackbacks

  1. ‘Empty Pockets’ Fabric Dish « Mama G & Co.
  2. All Ready for my First Ever Craft Fair! « so resourceful
  3. Starting off the New Year with A Blog Giveway! « so resourceful
  4. Making a Fabric Bread Basket « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

