Skip to content

Let’s be English and Talk About the Weather

September 28, 2011

It’s a very English thing to do, isn’t it, talk about the weather? And who can blame us, when it is so varied and changeable. Just look at the weather we are having in England now, towards the end of September! The week has become warmer and warmer, and now, at 4pm on Wednesday, it is 25 degrees C in the shade. That’s hotter than most of our August days, lovely!

At the weekend Mr. B and I spent a glorious two days on the North Norfolk coast to celebrate his birthday, and instead of wrapping up warm for Autumnal walks in the blustering wind, we found ourselves sunbathing in sand dunes, over-dressed and under-prepared.

The beach we went to was Holkham Beach, which is my absolute favourite beach on the Norfolk coastline. There are a number of reasons why I love it so much. Firstly, it is a huge expanse of sandy beach, surrounded by a pine forest. It is so vast that, despite its popularity, you can have a little bit of beach all to yourself  and easily get away from the crowds. That’s what I like about going to the beach. Going to the seaside and setting my picnic blanket down two feet from other seaside goers, having people surround me on all sides, children digging and shouting and running and laughing all around, and literally being able to see the droplets of sweat forming on pink-bellied sunbathers is my idea of hell. So not having to suffer all of that is a very good thing. That brings me to the second thing I love about Holkham: the sand dunes. Holkham has some mighty fine sand dunes, rooted down with marram grass, perfect for hiding away from everyone else, and even more perfect for jumping off, rolling down and generally messing around on. The third thing I love about Holkham are the beach huts. Oh they are beautiful, all painted different colours, all neat and little and so romantic. I love them.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 4:42 pm

    Great photos. I love the beach huts, they so very British.

  2. September 28, 2011 9:18 pm

    i love the photos too – only i think they are actually of wells-next-the-sea – also my favourite when we were living nearby (holkham is the next town along on the same strip) – oh i am just being pedantic here – a lovely reminder of when england is gorgeous! xxx

    • September 28, 2011 9:32 pm

      yes yes cavemum, the town is Wells-next-the-sea, but from what I know I think the stretch of beach is all known as Holkham Beach? That’s what I thought anyway.

  3. September 29, 2011 8:32 pm

    that looks like a fantastic beach, lovely photos

  4. September 29, 2011 10:33 pm

    Thanks for this – I was born in Norfolk and it’s one of my favourite beaches too.

  5. dawnpiper permalink
    September 30, 2011 9:12 am

    Wonderful pics…

  6. October 1, 2011 12:47 pm

    It sounds like the perfect getaway place! I love going to the beach. The huts are so cute. What are they for? We do not have them around here.

    • October 2, 2011 9:21 pm

      Hi, the beach huts are owned or rented by people who then store all the beach stuff in them for when they go to the beach, and some people sleep in them or have cooking facilities in them. And then, as it’s is England, people can shelter in them if it suddenly starts raining (very likely).

  7. butterflyexperience permalink
    October 2, 2011 8:19 pm

    Pink Converse Shoes are so cute! What mini size are they?

    • October 2, 2011 9:23 pm

      Wow, do they really look mini in the photos? That is funny, because they’re my size 7s, which I always think is a rather large shoe size, for a woman😀

      • butterflyexperience permalink
        October 7, 2011 5:26 am

        hahaha!
        Honestly thought they were kids shoes!
        Still cute even as size 7s🙂

  8. October 4, 2011 1:49 am

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog🙂. I LOVE the photos you’ve posted, especially your shoes in contrast to the beach scene. Also, those beach huts are amazing! I thought those were things you could only find in the Bahamas, next to palm trees, not pine trees. Hmm.. when’s my next trip to Europe?

    Also, on a side note, I read the whole post with a British accent in my head. It made it 50% better. I love accents haha.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

