Skip to content

Project Eighty Eight: A Patchwork Make-Up bag for my Sister Himi

September 11, 2011

I noticed the other day that my sister Himi was using one of the snack sacks as her make-up bag, and on quizzing her further I found out it was all she had! Well, a snack sack is in no way big enough to make a decent sized make-up bag, so I set to work making her something more suitable. I had lots of little rectangular scraps of fabric left over from cutting out my quilt squares, so I decided to use these to make a patchwork make-up bag for Himi.

First I sewed enough little rectangles together to make two pieces of fabric that were the dimensions I wanted for the bag, and then I made a zip-up bag, lining it with towelling. It was really easy to make, and the patchwork gives it a really pretty look. I finished the zipper pull off with a glass heart bead and a little metal butterfly (not in the photos), both of which I bought from my friend’s shop The Beaderie, in Cambridge.

straightening the edges

 

Comments are closed.

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

