Skip to content

725 Little Squares, I Have Finally Started my Quilt!

August 24, 2011

I have been desperate to make a quilt for ages, but too scared to actually start something that will require so much work and commitment, and have so many opportunities to go wrong. But finally, after seeing so many gorgeous quilts on other people’s blogs, I decided to pull myself together and just get started.

I decided pretty early on that if I were ever to make a quilt, I would like to make it out of all my fabric scraps, so I did some careful measuring and quick calculations, I wanted a quilt made out of small squares all randomly distributed so decided to use 3″ square blocks of fabric. Well, it turned out that I would need to cut 725 squares of fabric, so I did (over two weeks).

I have made a significant dent in my scrap fabric stash, cutting up so many 3.5″ squares, and it has been fun deciding which fabrics to use and which not to. The pink and white striped fabric came from my childhood curtains, and I also cut some squares from old clothes of mine that still hold sentimental value but were too worn out to wear.

Now I guess I better get on with sewing them all together, I need 29 strips of 25 squares. I think this project is going to take a looooooong time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cloud Spotter permalink
    August 24, 2011 3:27 pm

    Can you make me one? Just kidding. Can’t wait to see the finshed quilt.

  2. August 24, 2011 3:31 pm

    Wow sounds like its going to be a nice big blanket! My quilt I only had to cut 272 4in squares and took about a week for it to be put together. I wish you the best of luck putting your quilt together!!

  3. August 29, 2011 8:55 pm

    Can’t wait to see your progress with this quilt. I want to make one out of my fabric scraps as well!

  4. September 16, 2011 10:06 am

    I would LOVE to do this. Especially with all my old t-shirts that I never wear anymore. Looking forward to seeing the finished result!

  5. September 20, 2011 8:59 am

    Ooh, I can’t wait to see the finished product!!

Trackbacks

  1. Project Eighty Eight: A Patchwork Make-Up bag for my Sister Himi « so resourceful
  2. 2011: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

