Skip to content

Project Seventy nine: Record Player T-Shirt for a DJ

August 16, 2011

My latest t-shirt printing creation, for my friend Andrew’s birthday. He enjoys a bit of DJing in his spare time and is old school in his technique, preferring vinyl to cds. It was fun making this t-shirt, but also really hard making and cutting out the stencil for the record player, I had no idea whether it would turn out looking like a record player or not!

Here’s the finished stencil cut out of freezer paper and ironed onto the t-shirt

The brick-red fabric paint gets painted on top of the stencil. I gave it two coats of paint, assisting the drying between layers with a hairdryer, and then peeled off the freezer paper and ta-da! It turned out much better than I had anticipated, which I am glad about, otherwise I would have had to rush out to the shops to find a replacement present for my friend! That would not have been good.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sonia permalink
    August 16, 2011 8:04 pm

    It’s just like the turntables i remember! Well done. Still have some good ole vinyl, Can’t beat THAT sound. Well done! X

  2. September 20, 2012 6:41 pm

    Those t-shirts look amazing. What’s freezer paper and where can I buy it?!

    • September 20, 2012 9:19 pm

      Freezer Paper is American stuff for wrapping food in to freeze, but it’s also brilliant because you can iron it onto fabric and then peel it off with no residue, so perfect for stencils! I buy mine on Amazon but I have seen it in HobbyCraft (but not in supermarkets here in the UK)

Trackbacks

  1. Custom Made T-Shirts Using Freezer Paper and Fabric Paint « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

