Skip to content

Project Seventy Eight: Another Summery Tunic Top

August 14, 2011

I finally got round to sewing some more clothes for myself, and yesterday made another tunic top using cotton fabric, and I improved on the pattern a little bit making it more shaped, going in more at the waist and flaring out a little at the bottom, something I didn’t do on the first tunic top I made.

I loved this Tana Whelan fabric when I saw it on the roll at John Lewis, but in all honesty now that I’ve made the top I am not convinced it works, it seems a bit washed out and bedlineny.It’s funny how sometimes you cannot predict how something will look when it is finished based on the fabric you choose to start with. I know I have often experienced the opposite, where I haven’t really liked a fabric much on the roll, but when I make it into something it really works. Anyone else find that?

Perhaps it will grow on me, perhaps not, but I like the simple pattern of these tops, they are comfortable and feminine and so easy to make. I am considering writing a tutorial for making these if enough people are interested, so let me know if you would like the tutorial!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 1:02 pm

    Oh I love this, its gorgeous. The fabric is really lovely, very Orla Keilyesque!

  2. August 14, 2011 10:19 pm

    This tunic is gorgeous! I think the fabric works great too🙂 I do get that feeling sometimes too though, where I really like a fabric on the bolt but think it doesn’t look as nice when the garment is finished and vice-versa.
    Oh and a tutorial would be awesome, I’d love to know how to make one of those🙂

  3. August 15, 2011 12:55 pm

    I think its lovely – very pretty and summery.
    I am yet to sew something for myself so would love a tutorial.

  4. September 2, 2011 1:39 pm

    Very cute. Keep on sewing, creative lady!

  5. September 4, 2011 5:30 pm

    Thank you so much for taking part in the blog link up! I hope you enjoyed looking at all the other blogs taking part. I am delighted to have gotten such a good response for this first time. Hope to see you again next week! x

  6. butterflyexperience permalink
    September 9, 2011 7:01 pm

    Tis very pretty and I think it works wonderfully and would wear myself🙂

  7. Rikki Mitman permalink
    December 11, 2011 12:08 am

    I love the pattern you’ve developed here, and would be thrilled if you decided to post a tutorial. I like tops that are longer to wear with stretch pants — comfy but still covered where it matters. Thanks so much for showing it!

    Rikki Mitman
    Houston, Texas

    • December 11, 2011 10:08 am

      Hi Rikki, I’m glad you like it! One day I will get down to writing a tutorial, I promise!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

