Skip to content

Nearly Halfway Through the Summer, What Can I Cross off my List?

August 11, 2011

Well, almost three weeks has passed since the beginning of my six-week summer holiday, so I thought it was time to review my list of things I wanted to do and see how much I have achieved, or not, as the case may be. Let’s have a look:

My summer projects list:

1. A car seat organiser for the boy, to keep things in and help keep him entertained and organised while we’re in the car. Like all children, he struggles a bit with long car journeys so I am hoping this will help, at least until the novelty wears off. Check. I made it, it lasted about two days before the elastic loop holding it onto the back seat broke. The boy had overloaded it with all his possessions (my fault, why did I not think about that before making so many pockets?). It is now sitting in my mending pile awaiting surgery.

2. A wash-bag for Mr. B. Check. Was a rushed job and in retrospect could have done with a zip fastening, may have to make another one, but it will do for now and the towelling lining works really well.

3. Lots and lots of freezer paper t-shirt printing. Check. Thanks to the tutorial on MADE, I have made quite a number of these t-shirts, both for the boy and for other people, as presents, and they have gone down well. I recommend this to anyone, its great fun, really easy, and the results are brilliant.


4. I want to make a patchwork quilt, the first I have ever made. I want to use up all my scrap fabric and have it made in time for winter. And what I really want is for it to look like this Ollalieberry Ice Cream Quilt I first saw on Posie Gets Cozy.

Well, I still haven’t even got started on this, but today I am setting aside some hours just to start sorting through my fabric and cutting my squares out. I can’t wait.

5. I have lots of good intentions to sort out and update the boy’s room, which will involve lots of DIY. Partly completed. The boy now has a bunk bed and has even had a friend to sleepover in it. We have sorted through every inch of his room, thrown out every broken toy, donated others to charity and generally had a good old tidy-up. I still would like to put up more shelves and paint it, but there is no rush really.

6. Make more clothes for the boy and myself. Probably more shorts and trousers for the boy and some more tunic tops for myself, and maybe some shorts for myself too. We’ll see. Had forgotten all about this! Needless to say, no clothes have been made, yet.

7. Clean and tidy the house. Check. It is very gratifying, having the place spick and span again. It won’t last, but that’s not the end of the world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

