Skip to content

Project Seventy Seven: A Dubstep T-Shirt for my Brother

August 7, 2011

My youngest two siblings are really into their dubstep, and headed off last weekend to Global Gathering. In preparation for this epic weekend my little sister wanted to make my little brother a t-shirt, so she came to me for help. We ordered some UV fabric paint online and set to work.

My sister was very specific about how she wanted the t-shirt to look, so we spent ages looking through fonts and editing them in Gimp till we had the perfect design.

So, why does the t-shirt say ‘I wub you’? Good question. As I said, these two are seriously into their dubstep, and it is a play on words as wub is a word used in the dubstep world to describe the sound that reverberates through most of the tunes, wub wub wub, you know? (I didn’t).

We ended up having to paint eight layers of paint onto the t-shirt to get the desired effect over the black, and in retrospect I would have done a white undercoat first. You live and learn.

My brother was very pleased with his t-shirt, and wore it at Global Gathering, but sadly it didn’t survive the wash and a lot of the paint peeled off. So be warned, if you buy UV fabric paint online, it may not be very good. Still, the t-shirt served its purpose!

(that’s Mr. B modelling the t-shirt, not my brother)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

