Skip to content

Project Sixty Six: Three Fabric Bread Bags

July 3, 2011

My mum bakes a lot of home-made bread, and I recently had a request from my parents to make them some bread bags to keep this home-made bread fresh in. This was just the excuse I needed to buy the ticking I had been coveting in my local fabric shop.

I made the bags with squared bottoms and, at first, a drawstring closure at the top. However, I soon realised that once the drawstring was pulled tightly closed there was still a small opening in the bag, so I scrapped the drawstring idea and instead attached cotton ribbon to the top of the bag in order to tie the bag closed. This gave a much more airtight closure than the original drawstring.

Of course, in order to try out the new bread bags I had to bake some bread (I do love the smell of bread in the oven, and nothing beats the taste of home-made bread). We then had a delicious supper of fresh bread, Camembert and Stilton and a salad of avocado, tomato, cucumber and Mozzarella. Absolute heaven.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 6:30 am

    Oh, I love those. I brought a bread bag last year but left it too close to the hot plate one day and it is needing replacing. If I could only sew, I could make myself one, but I am hopeless at sewing.

  2. butterflyexperience permalink
    July 4, 2011 9:28 am

    I like the bread bag much more than bread bins which I think take up a lot of room on the counter.
    Another reason for me to learn how to sew!

    • July 4, 2011 3:52 pm

      Yes, I agree, bread bags take up far less room than a bread bin, and they look nicer too!

      Thsi would be a good project for a beginner actually, perhaps I will write a tutorial.

  3. ladyblahblahs permalink
    July 6, 2011 3:45 pm

    Oh that is just gorgeous! Do write a tutorial if you have time to do it (maybe when you are ‘not caring’ about the housework ;)) I would love to make a couple of those. Fantastic!

  4. December 31, 2011 7:09 am

    Good idea, my hubby got a bread maker for Christmas which he loves, and he would love some bread covers like this.

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial: How to Make a Bread Bag « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

