Skip to content

What Defines a Project Anyway?

June 27, 2011

I have been pondering this recently, during those 3am bouts of insomnia that are becoming a bit of a habit. When can something I do be called a project and counted towards my target? I need to draw the line somewhere, before I loose the plot completely and start blogging about hanging up the washing or tidying the boy’s room as if they were projects. I know I am dangerously close as I have just posted about patching up the boy’s shorts and called it project sixty-five, something in hindsight I really shouldn’t have done.

So, I will be editing my previous post, removing the project number, because seriously, ironing and then sewing a patch onto the seat of some shorts can hardly be called a project, not when you compare it to the other projects I have completed so far anyway.

In order to be clearer in my head about what constitutes a project, I have set myself some guidelines:

  • anything sewn by myself from scratch
  • any clothes that are changed or re-styled (but not just fixed)
  • anything recycled or renovated so as to alter its original appearance and/or function
  • DIY and the fixing of machinery that would usually be done by a repairman or professional
  • anything that involves an element of resourcefulness and creativity

That should help keep me on track! I leave you with this lovely book cover I found, looks like an interesting read. Clicking on the link takes you to the website.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 11:29 am

    I think The Boy’s shorts being repaired comes under anything that involves an element of resourcefulness and creativity

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

