Skip to content

Project Sixty Four: A Hideous Wildflower Pincushion

June 25, 2011

In the words of Marshall Mathers: I’ve created a monster. A truly hideous beast of a mutated pincushion. I found a free tutorial for this Anna Maria Horner Wildflower Pincushion, and the accompanying images made it look quite nice actually. Well, they lied (either that or I went horribly wrong somewhere along the line). Oh well, it will have to do for now, but be warned, if you  fancy giving this pincushion a go. Be warned. I think the real challenge lies in using the right combination of fabrics.

A small section of my scrap fabric stash

Scrappy scraps used to stuff the pincushion

As well as making a much-needed large pincushion, this project was also meant to tackle a bit of my scrap fabric pile, I only used scraps to make this. Perhaps this accounts for some of the hideousness actually as the fabrics do clash a bit. Oh well. A little dent was made in my scrap fabric stash. I also used the real scrappy scraps (the ones everyone else throws away and that I never meant to reveal as actually keeping) to stuff the beast, using almost a whole bag of scrappy scraps that I had been secretly hoarding.

My old, and very small, pincushion, which has now been replaced by the monster.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 12:51 pm

    oh I love it

    *adds to list of projects*

    I think it’s nice. I’d like to put the face of my ex in the middle (and stick pins on it)

    I may use transfer paper to achieve this ;O)

    • June 25, 2011 1:02 pm

      hahahhaha Emily, that is a brilliant idea!

      Glads you like it, I think they look better photographed then they do in real life though lol.

      Make one, you will make it better than me!

  2. June 25, 2011 1:24 pm

    Im going to make one this afternoon – off to a “beer and music festival” at local village and then will get sewing – I need a pin cusion any way – and ive just foind the fabrics I will use🙂

  3. June 25, 2011 1:36 pm

    oh for some reason I cant find or download the instructions

    doh

  4. June 25, 2011 6:59 pm

    I love it! Wish I had the patience for stuff like this! x

  5. July 17, 2011 7:59 am

    Bahaha, you made me laugh out loud. I like how you write.

    For the record, It is not actually bad at all! However, I do understand that sometimes, photography does seem to grace an object with a certain *extra* amount of pretty.

    I think that about all of my photos – “Hey wow, it looks like I had a GREAT time that particular day!” When irl, my day didn’t seem to be that lovely at the time.

    Actually, why is it that things almost always seem better in hindsight?

    Anyway, I am faffing on, your pincushion is *fine*.

    • July 17, 2011 9:32 am

      Glad I made you laugh and you like the pincushion! You should see it ilr though, a hideous monster!

      I agree, hindsight is a great thing, our brains cleverly block out the boring bits…

Trackbacks

  1. 2011: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

