Skip to content

Project Sixty Three: A Tunic Top

June 20, 2011

5am Sunday morning, insomnia hits. I watch the mottled sunlight force through the edges of the curtains,closing my eyes to squeeze the light out, squeezing the thoughts out too, willing my mind to stay quiet. I see patterns, fabrics, the cut of a sleeve. I have no control over my mind as it starts pulling images out of filing cabinets and flinging them all over the pinboard of my mind. I’m on a roll now, brainstorming ideas for how to make a top out of cotton fabric without using buttons, zips or elastic. Sleep is forgotten as I lie there working out the pattern I will need to make, what fabric to use, how to cut it. I get excited. I nudge Mr. B and tell him I’m getting up for a while, I can’t sleep. He mumbles sleepily and falls back to sleep. I curse his ability to do that, sleep uninterrupted by the ramblings of a chaotic mind, and get up.

I work solidly for three hours, measuring, cutting, sewing, ripping out seams that have gone wrong, and sewing some more. Finally I have a tunic top, with gathered sleeves, a rounded neckline and a ruffled bottom, all that is left is the hemming. A wave of exhaustion hits me and I climb back into bed, relieved and quiet of mind, safe in the knowledge that I have done it, created what was in my mind. The hemming can wait, what I need now is sleep.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    June 20, 2011 8:43 pm

    Too funny! (and you are v. clever). I lay half-awake one evening mentally trying to figure out how to sew a reversible pinafore for my toddler. I was TORMENTED by it.

    • June 20, 2011 8:48 pm

      Yes, TORMENTED, that is the word! Did I mention this tunic is reversible? (not inside out reversibe, but it doesn’t have a back or a front, both sides are the same)

  2. June 22, 2011 5:15 pm

    I love this, Im contemplating making my own dress for a friend’s wedding. Im still breast feeding my second child, and I cant find a decent and flattering dress with boob access (the grrom to be has already remarked that he will easily get distracted by my boobs in church) joy.

  3. supermom permalink
    June 25, 2011 2:00 am

    Just thought I’d stop by and thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to leave a comment. I’ve had fun reading back through all your projects. You’re well on your way to completing 111 in 2011.

  4. June 26, 2011 4:48 am

    oh cute, cute. I have a no sewing after 10pm rule or it all turns to custard!

Trackbacks

  1. Project Seventy Eight: Another Summery Tunic Top « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

