Skip to content

Project Fifty Eight: A Break from Sewing with some Old School Coloured Pencils and an Orchid

June 4, 2011

I have always liked drawing with coloured pencils, but don’t do nearly enough drawing these days, so for mother’s day I decided to draw my mother a picture of orchids. Orchids are one of her favourite flowers, and she has an amazing collection of beautiful Orchids dotted all over her house. My dad, the book collector, has some lovely old orchid books with beautiful botanical drawings of Orchids in them. It was one of these books that inspired me to draw my mum an Orchid for Mother’s Day, and I basically copied one of the drawings in the book.

I started about a week before Mother’s Day, using my trusted 15-year-old Derwent Artist’s coloured pencils, and I ended up spending about four weeks working on this drawing. I love using coloured pencils, layering up the colours to get exactly the right effect.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 4:37 am

    Thank you so much for your visit ! Your blog is beautiful🙂
    Angie

  2. Arlene permalink
    June 5, 2011 1:36 pm

    Really lovely work! Dry colour is really challenging. I recently took up drawing and painting and admire anyone who follows through on their creativity. I love the colours and I think it is better than the original!🙂

  3. June 5, 2011 3:07 pm

    that is lovely, very tranquil

  4. June 5, 2011 7:59 pm

    Is there hig you can’t do well?

  5. June 6, 2011 10:34 am

    Wow! You’ve done a beautiful job of that. I bet your mama is thrilled. Really lovely

  6. Elaine permalink
    June 8, 2011 3:25 pm

    Lovely! What Paper did you use?

    • June 8, 2011 3:57 pm

      Hi Elaine, I used rough grain 300g/m2 watercolour paper, because I liked the texture.

  7. June 11, 2011 4:11 am

    It’s fun to see the colors appearing and filling in the flowers step-by-step. Well done! They’re beautiful! I like my trusty old colored pencil set, too. I should get it out more often.

  8. July 7, 2011 3:38 am

    wow, this is *stunning*! i love your blog and admire your resourcefulness. keep up the good work and i may try to make that bread bag!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

