Skip to content

Kids Clothes Week Challenge Spring 2011

May 5, 2011

Let’s face it, sometimes, despite our best intentions, we just never get round to all the things we want to make, sew and create, and if you’re anything like me your wish list of things to make and projects not yet attempted (despite the fabric having been bought months ago) is forever growing, or you might be one of those people who starts projects but never somehow finds the time or motivation to actually see them through to completion.

Well, one of the things I am forever thinking about making, but never really dedicating enough time to actually getting round to doing, is more clothes for the boy. Last spring I even bought several metres of cotton ticking in both navy and red stripe thinking they would be perfect for shorts for the boy. The navy striped fabric just sat on the shelf taunting me (and slowly accumulating dust) while I somehow worked my way through the red stripe making bags and hearts and other inconsequential things. Oh. So this year I have joined the Kids Clothes Week Challenge.

Kids Clothes Week Challenge (KCWC) is a week in spring (9th-15th May 2011) where anyone can dedicate an hour a day to making new clothes for kids (theirs or other people’s).  The challenge is wonderfully simple. It all started a few years ago when the very creative Meg Spaeth from Elsie Marley decided she needed an incentive to get off the sofa and actually start sewing clothes for her kids, instead of just thinking about it. She put aside an hour a week making clothes, and it worked! The next year she invited others to join her, and it took off from there.

I’m very excited about joining this challenge, and as well as sewing clothes for the boy I am also planning on writing up a tutorial for how to make shorts for children, based on my own pattern that I drafted a few years ago. I don’t know about others, but I find that, when looking for tutorials for kids clothes online, there are about a million tutorials for girls’ clothes to every one tutorial for boys’ clothes, so it can become a bit discouraging sometimes. Obviously everything I make next week will be for boys (which means, of course, that they will be suitable for girls too, who said life was fair?).

There is a flickr group dedicated to the Kids Clothes Week Challenge, and you can browse it to see what other people have made in previous years. All very inspiring. A great deal of pretty dresses and fluffy skirts, and a scattering of boys clothes too. You can browse the Elsie Marley flickr group here.

If anyone else feels inspired and would like to join, you can do so here, there are more FAQs about it all here too.

Be sure to check my blog next week to see my progress, laugh at my mistakes, and maybe be inspired to follow my tutorials to make some shorts for your children too.

This is (vague) list of projects I would like to achieve on this challenge:

1 pair of shorts with zip and button waist, made from navy and cream cotton ticking, with denim back pockets made from back pockets unpicked from old jeans.

1 pair of shorts with an elasticated waistline. Not sure what fabric to use yet, maybe the Swedish fabric with reindeer on it that I used for the stool cushions?

1 pair of trousers for the boy refashioned out of a pair of women’s trousers that I rescued from my sister’s charity shop pile of clothes. they are made out of lovely white and grey pinstripe fabric, almost seersucker but not quite.

1 tie and 1 bow tie made of purple gingham fabric that the boy bought ages ago for me to make into ties. I think he’s forgotten all about that fabric now, but his favourite colour is still purple so he will love it.

Image courtousy of Elsie Marley.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

