Skip to content

Project Forty Five: Sewing a Wallet for my Lil’ Sister

April 28, 2011

I have a swarm of siblings (or is it a hoard? mass? troop? my grandad always refered to us as the tribe; perhaps we are a tribe, like antelope; or a mass, like deer?). There are a lot of us, which means it’s always someone’s birthday, and this month it is my second little sister Himi’s, she just turned 28. I love it when it is one of their birthdays as I enjoy making things for them most of all, it is always such fun choosing colours and fabrics and designs specifically for their personality (we are all very different!).

I decided to further my wallet-making skills and attempt a new design, for a larger wallet than the original pocket-size one I made for my little brother back in January. I used some of my new dusty-pink polka dot fabric that had recently arrived in the post and some coordinating fabric from my scrap stash, and then found the perfect online tutorial for the wallet I wanted to make over at Confessions of a Fabricoholic.

Supplies:

The completed zipper compartment and card slot section:

Unlike the original instructions over at Confessions of a Fabricoholic, instead of just putting a line of stitches up the middle of the card slots to make individual slots, I sewed pretty ribbon down the middle, which adds a nice feature to the wallet:

I used the same fabric as the outside of the wallet to line the wallet and make the inner pockets behind both the zippered compartment and the card slots:

I decided to use a scrap of green fabric for the flap closure, and used a magnetic clasp. I also embellished the outside of the wallet with some nice striped canvas ribbon (and sewed my label onto this ribbon too):

The finished wallet, with rather wobbly topstitching:

I attached a little copper dragonfly to the zip-pull:

If anyone is interested in making a wallet like this one I highly recommend the tutorial over at Confessions of a Fabricoholic (what a fab name). The tutorial is really clear and simple, thank you Liz for taking the time to share this with us!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 4:02 am

    Very nice! I have been wanting to make a wallet for myself for a while but couldn’t find the pattern I bought a while back. I recently found it again and am excited to make one up. I am definitely going to check out that tutorial you suggest, though. Then I’ll see which one I like better, or maybe I’ll make two!

  2. April 29, 2011 2:50 pm

    I like the dragonfly zip-pull!🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Project Forty Nine: An Amy Butler Wallet for Sally « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

