Skip to content

Project Forty: Transforming the Kitchen, Thanks to a 99p Winning Bid on Ebay

April 14, 2011

Ebay. What a brilliant idea. The ability to browse nosily through other people’s unwanted goods, watch them, bid on them, win them, click to pay, have them posted to me, all from the comfort of my own home. And sometimes for such ridiculously cheap prices it almost feels wrong. I have bought so many things via Ebay over the years: buttons, lace and fabric; door knobs and lampshades; clothes and shoes; bicycles and bike locks, party supplies, toys and edible glitter, memory cards and phone chargers, and even our car.

This month I found an absolute bargain on Ebay, and when it arrived it was packaged up as you can see in the photo above. Can you guess what it is yet?

Ta Da:

 

Hoe cool is that? The original kitchen taps were hideous, and two separate taps, so completely useless for washing up, and I’ve been wanting to change them for, like, ever.  So I have been patiently trawling through Ebay for months, keeping an eye out for some second-hand traditional mixer taps that weren’t going for silly prices. And then finally, luck strikes. The guy who listed these taps didn’t bother to put the picture up the right way round, which resulted in less interest, and his listing ended on a Wednesday lunchtime (not the best time to end an Ebay listing), which meant, when there were 4 minutes to go, and still no bids, I started to get all excited. At precisely 2 minutes before the end, I placed my bid. £5. I then had an agonising 90 seconds of waiting and watching, hoping no one out-bid me. No one did, and I won the beauty for 99p! (plus £7 P&P but that doesn’t count!) I did a little dance and waited patiently for the postman. And then, when they arrived, the lovely Mr. B fitted them for me! Ah, bliss. All we needed were two new washers, it didn’t take long at all.

Before:

 

God they were so ugly. I felt they really ruined the look of my whole kitchen (but not enough to actually buy new taps with silly price tags of £150+, I’m not that crazy).

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 9:33 am

    We had separate taps in out old house. Horrible. You either burn yourself or freeze yourself, no middle ground. It’s amazing the difference they make in how it looks too.

  2. April 14, 2011 10:05 am

    The wonder of eBay!! There a months I can go without finding a thing but then I’ll come across an absolute bargain, you’ve scored a blinder here – it looks great in situ!

    Jem xXx

  3. April 17, 2011 12:50 pm

    Wow, really happy for you that you found a beautiful bargain!🙂 I’ve tried a few times to bid on ebay, but always to no avail.

  4. April 17, 2011 9:09 pm

    that tap totally changes the whole look of the space. i love ebay i have got so many things that are that bit different that i wouldnt have got in shops.

  5. the boy permalink
    April 19, 2011 9:18 am

    the kitchen looks so much nicer

  6. June 21, 2011 2:13 am

    I like this look of both the new tap and the way you hang your mugs above the sink! I like your style and that moose fabric!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

