Skip to content

Project Thirty Eight: Painting my Wardrobe White

April 11, 2011

The bedroom masterplan is really coming together now, and I completed loads of projects well ahead of the initial month-long timeframe I had set myself! I do have fleeting moments when I wonder if I’m becoming a little too white obsessed (probably not helped by Mr. B’s constant teasing!) but then when I use white and see the finished product I realise it’s not an obsession, it’s just good taste! White looks good, there is no denying it, and our bedroom is slowly but surely evolving into the tranquil haven of my dreams.

So, enough of the waffle, I painted the big old dark wood wardrobe white, and instantly the bedroom felt more spacious. This is what it looked like before:

Now that it is white, in a room whose walls are painted white, and next to the deliciously colourful chest of drawers, the wardrobe fits in perfectly and the whole bedroom is really coming together.

It took a total of four coats of Satinwood wood paint to cover the original dark wood and give a lovely bright smooth finish to the piece. Well worth the effort.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 10:00 pm

    The wardrobe is so much better in white

  2. April 13, 2011 10:08 pm

    Meant to ask did you just use the wood paint direct or did you prep it in anyway?

    • April 17, 2011 9:26 am

      Hi Bronze,
      I just sanded the whole thing down really well and then painted direct with the wood paint. Life’s too short for primer🙂

  3. May 11, 2012 11:27 pm

    I have been looking for a painted white wardrobe for my daughter’s room, but they are so very expensive. I am thinking I should paint my pine tallboy white rather than fork out on a new one. Pine is becoming so dated these days but it was expensive at the height of it’s time, and not sure we can afford to simply replace it with more fashionable painted white furniture! DIY painting has got to be the answer!

    • May 12, 2012 9:14 am

      Thank you Louise, you are right, makes far more sense to paint your existing furniture white rather than forking out for expensive new stuff.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Forty Three: Let There be White « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

