Skip to content

Project Thirty Four: I am Finally Dabbling in Making my own Clothes, Look at my Skirt!

March 23, 2011

I’ve always shied away from making my own clothes, thinking it is far too complicated (it is!) and not wanting to make clothes that obviously look home-made (in a bad way).  I’ve made shorts for the boy, and they were simple enough, but I always figured I would need to actually buy a pattern if I was ever to make my own items of clothing, and that always put me off.

But then I started reading about all the bloggers out there who make their own clothes, and I read a few online tutorials and guides for making circle skirts, and I was inspired! Unless I tried, how would I actually know whether making clothes was beyond me?

So, I made myself a pattern from an old bedsheet, basically cutting a great big doughnut shape in the fabric, with the inner hole being the waist of the skirt. I then cut the fabric for my skirt out of two fabrics, both given to me for my last birthday, by folding my pattern in half and cutting a half circle of each fabric. I then cut each half-circle into four and sewed alternating sections together to get the final result.

Once I had all the panels of my skirt sewn together I added a very simple 4″ zip to one seam and then mocked up a waistband for the top, with a few darts in it to help it lay flat. Once I had hemmed the bottom of the skirt (which involved a lot of ironing) I added some vintage lace all around the hem. I should probably mention that I also let the skirt hang for two days before hemming it as some of the fabric was cut on the bias and would stretch. I ended up trimming about 1.5″ off some places, but I had already allowed for that by cutting the fabric slightly longer than I needed.

Front view of skirt with waistband

 

back view of skirt with waistband

I love this skirt, it turned out so much better than I imagined, and wasn’t even very hard to make! It swishes when I walk and is great for twirling around in, with all that fabric! I felt like a little girl again today, spinning around in my skirt.

Now I have made one I know how I will tweek the pattern in future, so I shall endeavour to keep making skirts until I find the perfect skirt pattern, and then I shall write a tutorial and share it with all of you! Until then, if you want to make your own, I recommend you search for other tutorials on how to make a circle skirt, as there are literally hundreds out there, including some video tutorials on youtube, that will do a much better job at explaining how to make these that I could at this early stage of my journey into sewing clothes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Frances permalink
    March 23, 2011 10:53 pm

    Oh, it’s so pretty!!x

  2. March 24, 2011 4:28 am

    I really dig it!

  3. March 24, 2011 5:20 pm

    Oooh!! I love swishy skirts 🙂

  4. Sonia permalink
    March 24, 2011 8:29 pm

    It looks fab on you! Why you thought making clothes is difficult for you when your previous items are so immaculately executed defeats me. You have a real skill there, girl!
    x

  5. March 25, 2011 11:49 am

    I love it! You did a great job for your first time making a skirt.

  6. March 28, 2011 6:50 am

    It’s gorgeous. It’s comments that say I added a simple zip that make me smile. You should see me try and add a zip to anything. You have a natural talent.

    As for your pockfree stretchmarkless stomach

  7. May 22, 2011 3:39 am

    Adorable! And I too am impressed with the zipper. I go the easy route with elastic waists all the way!

  8. NotSoYummyMummy permalink
    January 4, 2012 10:42 am

    Oh wow, what a gorgeous skirt, looks beautiful on you!
    I really admire your determination, I would love to do something like this, but at the moment don’t even have the time to do my Uni work! Maybe in a couple of years.
    Bookmarking your blog for any time I am hit by inspiration!

  9. July 23, 2013 3:46 pm

    Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post.
    I like to write a little comment to support you.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Forty Eight: I did Something New Today, I Made a Sundress! « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

