Skip to content

Project Twenty Eight: Two Little Bow Ties

March 6, 2011

 

I’m on a roll! After making the boy his own tie, I decided to try my hand at bow ties too, as he’d been asking for one ever since discovering James Bond (he also wants a three-piece suit, but that is far beyond my sewing skills :-)). I found some great tutorials online for making bow ties for boys, and in the end I used a combination of methods from a few tutorials to make my own.

 

As you can see, they are pre-made, instant, velcro-fastening bow ties, perfect for little boys to add to their outfits without adding too much to the morning rush (who would have time to tie a bow tie before school?). The boy loves them and has bene proudly wearing them to school and I am already getting requests from his friends to make them one too.

 

I love these bow ties, there are endless possibilities when it comes to fabric choices, and they are small enough to be great scrap fabric projects. I am already planning on making Mr. B one too, for his next black tie event :-).

If you want to make these bow ties, I’d suggest using either this tutorial over at Prudent Baby, or this one over at A Lemon Squeezy Home. In fact, I recommend you have a look at A Lemon Squeezy Home simply for the brilliant photo shoot of the boys in their ties, the photos are brilliant! I read through both tutorials and then made my own bow ties using a combination of the easier parts of both tutorials.

 

 

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

