Skip to content

Project Twenty Seven: A Very Dapper Tie for The Boy

March 5, 2011

The boy has suddenly become very interested in what he wears, and has started to want to dress smartly, pulling crumpled shirts from the bottom of his wardrobe that I had forgotten he even owned, and wearing them tucked into his trousers. He has also been hankering after a tie, and at first I thought I’d just get him a couple from a charity shop, but they were all really dull and old-man. So I googled ‘boy’s tie tutorial’ and instantly got a hit for Purl Bee’s tie pattern. I was on to a winner, now I could make the boy lovely little fabric ties in bright bold funky fabrics.

Although Purl Bee’s tie pattern is almost entirely sewn by hand the whole thing only took me about an hour and a half to make the first time, which included the time it took to print out and then cut out and sellotape together the paper pattern and faff with folding my fabric on the bias. I think I’ll be making lots of these!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 8:24 am

    Liking the spots! You should check out Jon Snows (channel 4 news presenter) collection of ties..you will be inspired! 🙂

  2. the boy permalink
    March 5, 2011 3:17 pm

    thank you mum dressing smartly helps me be good at school:-)

  3. March 19, 2011 12:50 am

    I’m going to have to give this a go. Thanks for sharing the link

Trackbacks

  1. Project Twenty Nine: Another Dapper Little Tie for The Boy « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

