Skip to content

Project Twenty Five: The First Circular Stool Cushion Cover

March 2, 2011

The first of the cushion covers for the stool cushions that I made at the weekend was for the stool that lives under the boy’s workstation. Although I am generally the kind of girl who shies away from having all the soft furnishings in a room made out of the same fabric, I decided to use the same bold Ikea tree fabric as I used to cover the swivel chair, and which also happens to be what the blind in the boy’s room is made out of.  I have two very good reasons for sticking with this fabric:

1. I have a lot of that tree fabric left, and it was very cheap.

2. The boy couldn’t care less if his stool is the same as his swivel chair and his blind.

There is a hidden zip in the side and two ties on the bottom to tie the cushion to the stool, keeping it nicely in place.

 

I have to admit that I am not a hundred percent happy with how this cushion cover turned out, it isn’t smooth, especially around the side, I think sewing circles is not an easy thing, but hopefully I can improve on the design before making the next two cushion covers. Anyone have any suggestions for what went wrong and how I can prevent this happening with the nest two cushion covers?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah permalink
    March 3, 2011 4:02 am

    Slightly different idea but I have used upholstery foam or even a cut up foam mattress, glued it to a board then used a staple gun to attach the fabric to the board, usually while kneeling on it.
    The circles are harder but folding and stapling usually works. Then I either velcro attached it or glued it to the item.
    Love your blog , totally inspired me from all the way over the other side of the world.

  2. March 19, 2011 12:48 am

    You have prompted me. I am going to recover my dining chairs. I think I may use a staple gun though as I don’t have your sewing ability

    • March 19, 2011 9:14 am

      I love staple guns, especially for re apholstering furniture! Such a satisfying tool to use.

  3. January 1, 2013 9:17 pm

    I’m a traditional person. Just before, newspapers were always my favorite source of posts; thanks to you and to the net, I’ll be reading posts right here now.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Forty Two: Circular Cushions for the Stools (Finally) « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

