Skip to content

Project Twenty Three: Barking Coasters to Match the Oven Gloves

February 26, 2011

The Barking Oven Gloves I made for Mr. B’s mum were very well received, so I decided to use the left-over fabric to make some matching coasters for her too. I’ve never made coasters before and the initial idea was to sandwich the top and bottom fabric between some heavy fleece and then use bias binding to sew the whole lot together, much like I did with the oven gloves. However, a few trial runs later and it wasn’t looking good. I’m just not too hot when it comes to neatly sewing bias binding to small things. So I changed plans.

 

 

 

In the end I used a much simpler technique, sandwiching all the layers together but with right sides together, sewing around the square leaving a gap, and then turning the whole thing right side out and topstitching around the edge with a zigzag stitch to finish them off nicely. I also interfaced the fabric to give it more structure.

I love how they turned out. So much so that I am considering making some coasters for us. We don’t have any and have never used them (we don’t really own any expensive furniture that needs protecting!) but they look really pretty and I need to use up some of my fabric scraps.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 3:34 pm

    hee hee I like the word “barking”

Leave a comment

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)