Skip to content

Project Twenty Two: Scrap Fabric Hanging Hearts

February 25, 2011

Ever since visiting Gothenburg in Sweden over Christmas I have been very into hearts as decorative features around the house (much to the silent dismay of the ever-patient, ever-tolerant boys). Over the past few days I have been having fun making little hanging hearts from my scrap fabric stash, and using my ribbon and button stash to embellish them.

 

 

 

 

I’m not happy though. It appears that, no matter what heart shape I draw, they never come out looking as good as the ones you can buy in shops. My hearts are a bit lopsided. I should just accept their imperfections and see it as a reflection of life in general, which is never perfect, but the girlie part of me wants perfect fabric hearts, dammit! If anyone knows what I am doing wrong, or what the secret to sewing perfect hearts is, please please please let me in on the secret!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    February 25, 2011 7:34 pm

    This sounds v. obvious, but are you drawing your hearts by using a mirror image? Which is to say, are you folding the piece of paper in half, drawing half a heart, cutting, and unfolding?

    • February 25, 2011 8:03 pm

      Oh dear Rachel, no I wasn’t! But now that you mention it I could kick myself for not doing such an obvious thing! I’ve just folded my template in haf and it definately isn’t symmetrical! Thank you for your help.

  2. Donna permalink
    February 27, 2011 5:50 pm

    Another thought: before you flip the heart right-side-out, did you cut out small triangles along the seam so the fabric doesn’t bunch up along the curves after you flip it? Just a thought 🙂

    • February 27, 2011 6:43 pm

      Hi Donna,
      I did make cuts along the seam, but didn’t cut out triangles, if that makes sense? And I fear I never know how close to the stitches to cut, do you cut the triangles out so they are right up close to the stitching? Thanks for your help, it is alway appreciated!

  3. Bindi permalink
    February 28, 2011 5:21 pm

    Hi a friend told me about your blog, it is fab and I have made some similar things, hanging hearts (mine weren’t v symmetrical either, but it just adds to the uniqueness!), bags and mostly cushions. You have inspired me to start a blog myself. Lovely there are so many creative people out there surrounded by fabric and thread like me!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

