Skip to content

Tuesday’s Resourceful Little Idea

February 15, 2011

I have a weakness for Ferrero Rocher chocolates. It’s that ultimate combination of chocolate and hazelnuts that does it for me I think. So I have come up with the perfect excuse to buy them, and that is the amazing versatility of the empty boxes for storing things in. They are nice solid little boxes, perfectly clear so you can see the contents, and no horrible sticky label to try to scrub off.

So as you’ve probably guessed, today’s resourceful idea is to save up all your Ferrero Rocher boxes, or if you don’t like them (are you mad?!) to collect them from friends who do, and use them to store and display pretty colourful collections of things.

Some of the things we store in these boxes include:

  • spools of thread
  • embroidery thread
  • cards of poppers
  • small items of sewing equipment like tape measures, seam rippers and bobbins
  • my beaded jewellery
  • scraps of fabric
  • screws and nuts and bolts and other DIY equipment
  • cotton wool in the bathroom cabinet
  • the boy’s Go-Go collection
  • the boy’s Bakugan War Balls (is that even what they are called? I don’t know)

 

 

 

And Mr. B used two Ferrero Rocher box lids to make a protective case to house his Arduino and accelerometer that he built for his car computer. Personally I think this is the coolest thing of all, and the most resourceful use of old chocolate packaging ever.

 

Mr. B knows he never has to buy ‘project boxes’ from Maplin for his projects, he can buy me chocolate instead! If you want to use Ferrero Rocher boxes for similar purposes you can use glue form a glue gun to seal the box once you don’t need access to it any more, the one in the photo is still a work-in-progress, hence the electrical tape over it.

 

Some other people’s uses for Ferrero Rocher boxes:

Clever Car Displays:

Lipstick Storage:

So next time you feel guilty about buying a box of Ferrero Rocher, just tell yourself that you’re actually buying a storage box that happens to be full of chocolate (bonus!), and when you’re eating the last Ferrero Rocher, again, banish all guilty thoughts, you need to eat it, so you can start using the box for more important things.

I hope you liked today’s Resourceful Little Idea. If you use Ferrero Rocher boxes I would love to hear from you, feel free to leave a comment and inspire others!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 8:17 pm

    It’s a great idea! Actually I love to use those boxes for everything and this morning a figure that one of my boxes is broken, so I need a new one and Valentine’s day was the perfect excusse to buy it!

  2. February 16, 2011 4:08 am

    Love it! I found a clear Corina Lark cigar box for 50 cents, and I use it to hold my make-up. It looks great wherever I leave it. Also my name is Karina so the name on the sticker is a nice touch.

  3. February 16, 2011 9:37 pm

    Very clever!

  4. Caroline permalink
    February 26, 2011 8:42 pm

    Lovely tip Thank You!

  5. March 5, 2011 3:27 pm

    I’m sure my go-go’s aren’t in that box πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

