Skip to content

My Cool 80s Phone

February 11, 2011

Look at what I found on Ebay, and subsequently won for just a tenner! A lovely old 80s phone in light yellow. I had actually had my heart set on a red one for ages, but they kept going for far too much money than I was willing to pay on Ebay, I had almost lost heart. Then I spotted this light yellow one and realised it would go perfectly with my framed ‘Keep Calm and Climb On’ print, as the frame was painted a pale lemon yellow.

I love my new phone. I don’t care that everyone else mocks it and makes fun of me, or calls it ‘ugly’, it’s a damn sight better aesthetically than the hideously ugly modern black and grey things most people have, that lack any sort of ‘design’ at all. Yes it may take ages to dial a phone number, and you have to actually know the number you want to dial, but I think that’s a good thing. Finally I can use a nice old-fashioned phone book once again and learn the phone numbers of my nearest and dearest. Also, it has a great ring to it, a proper, old-fashioned shrill ‘ring ring’, not a synthetic electronic ring-tone. I am very happy. It makes me smile every time I walk past it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 2:07 pm

    We used to have a red one, a long time ago. I agree, they look cooler!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

