Skip to content

Tuesday’s Resourceful Little Idea

February 8, 2011

Here’s the idea: every Tuesday, starting today, I am going to write about something simple and resourceful that anyone can do to help inspire them, be creative, and most of all, be thrifty and help them spend less while still making lots.

Today’s resourceful little idea is all about increasing your ribbon stash without actually buying any ribbon. Whenever I buy new tops I cut the little ribbon loops off the inside of the shoulders (these ribbons are there to keep the garments on the hangers while in the shop) and I then keep the ribbon. This ensures I always have a stash of little colourful ribbons perfect for all sorts of craft and sewing projects, and it also means I never have to worry about the ribbon hanging out when wearing the top.

I mostly use these little ribbons to attach to zip-pulls on little prism pouches. To stop the ends fraying I quickly run the edge through a flame to melt the ribbon and fuse the end.

Go through your wardrobe now, you’ll be amazed to find just how much ribbon you have lying redundant and unloved inside your t-shirts and tops. Cut them all out and store them in a pretty little jar ready for use!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    February 8, 2011 4:38 pm

    This is such a great idea. I already save ribbon from presents etc. and put it in to my ribbon box, but I hadn’t even thought of cutting it out of tops.
    I love your blog, too. Please keep going!

  2. SoupDragon permalink
    February 8, 2011 6:57 pm

    LOL – I do this. I have all mine in a dinky little Fortnum and Mason picnic basket [ponce]

  3. February 9, 2011 9:24 am

    Lovely idea, I actually keep the ribbons from packages I get from stores. Lots of colors.

  4. February 9, 2011 8:17 pm

    This is a brilliant idea – I am going to be making some non-slip barrettes for my girls, but I don’t have a huge selection of ribbons to choose from. Now I can score some more for free. I’m thinking I might end up weaving a few together to get the width I need.
    Now, what can you do with those clear plastic stretchy ones? I have seen one interesting use recently, a shirt I bought used a strip of it to reinforce ruching on the inside of the sleeve.
    Thanks for the inspiration, I’m looking forward to more.

  5. February 10, 2011 5:26 pm

    Pipplin here! I’m liking Tuesday’s little idea.
    I will be collecting ribbon tomorrow to avoid the mountain of washing up that needs doing.
    Could you possibly follow my brand spanking new, shiny blog? I couldnt get to grips with wordpress.
    There um… isnt actually really anything on it yet. But I am working on it! You are on my favourite blog list of course!
    Thank you 🙂

  6. February 10, 2011 5:29 pm

    Oh I forgot to add the link!
    Here we go http://bearslittlecorner.blogspot.com/
    I can’t promise the most exciting posts in the world but mainly it will be a scrapbook of my to-do list and photos I’ve taken. Activities I’ve done my little bear and online recipes, sites, blog posts I like. Just one big place to store everything!

  7. greenlotus permalink
    February 14, 2011 10:47 pm

    Snap! also I save the cord handles from posh paper bags (have been banned from keeping the bags) and the drawstrings from sports shop bags and…I can’t remember when I bought new haberdashery, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

