Skip to content

I think it’s Time I Mentioned the Cars

January 30, 2011

I live with two males who are obsessed with cars. In fact, Mr. B has made a career out of his love of cars and is an automotive engineer who designs engine modelling software, and the boy just loves everything about cars. Slowly I have learnt to love them too, although I’m more into how they look rather than how they perform, and I do find older classic cars very aesthetically pleasing.

My dream car is a Chevy 3100 pickup truckfrom from 1953, but failing that I will have any old Chevy truck,  in a nice shade of green similar to the ones in the photos above. One day I will own a truck like this, but until then I will make do with drooling over google images!

Anyway, before you switch off, I’m not actually going to write about cars, ( if you are riveted and want to read more automotive related stuff, I recommend you visit Mr. B’s blog, Thought Draw) but mentioning the cars now is relevant, as I have embarked on a number of car-related projects that I will be posting about. A car can actually provide a lot of opportunity to be creative!

I don’t actually drive yet, but I am learning, and last summer we bought a 15-year-old Citroen ZX diesel estate for our road trips and camping and climbing adventures. It’s old, and an estate, and doesn’t look very nice, and we got it for an absolute bargain at £400, so Mr. B gave me free rein to do whatever I want to it (within reason). As well as the Citroen, Mr. B is the proud owner of a Mazda MX-5 (a Eunos Mark One Japanese import, soft top, for those who are interested) in British racing green. It is a beauty of a car, and a sweet sweet ride, especially with the top down and the sun shining, but being a gas guzzler with just two seats we needed an everyday car as well. Mr B is in the process of building a computer for the MX-5, and has let me sand down and re-varnish the steering wheel, handbreak and gear knob (they are all wooden, how lovely is that?) They look beautiful now. I’m helping him with a number of projects relating to the car computer that I will be blogging about at some point.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

