Skip to content

Project Nine: A Lovely Woven Bead Bracelet

January 29, 2011

Look at what I made on Thursday evening! My lovely friend Sally owns The Beaderie in Cambridge, an amazing bead boutique full of beautiful colourful beads, where I love going just to look at all the amazing collections of beads in little pots and compartments (it really is heavely). As well as bussily running her shop, making bespoke jewellery for her clients, and fixing jewellery, she also runs beading classes in the evenings, and wanted to try out a new pattern on a novice (me) before attempting it at one of her classes.

I want some pink pliers!

When she asked me if I’d be her guinea-pig I jumped at the chance, my jewellery-making up until then had been limited to stringing beads onto elastic, and I wanted to learn some proper techniques.

I used three different types of beads, dark blue ones, smaller purply-blue ones and gold seed beads. We used proper jewellery thread and a needle to string the beads on and do the weaving, and once I got the hang of the pattern it wasn’t too difficult. My biggest problem was keep the thread from tangling up!

 

 

 

It took me about one and a half hours to make this, and while I was fumbling away clumsily Sally expertly whipped up an identical bracelet in about half the time, and managed to finish off another bracelet double the width of this one! She is a very talented woman. The bracelet she made was a lovely pale green colour, and she had another one she’d made earlier in a pink shade (you can see it in the photo above).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2014 9:52 am

    I’ve done this class at The Beaderie too. I’m pretty addicted to Sally’s classes – they’re all totally amazing. I made one for my Mum and she loved it and I’ve got a queue of people asking me to make one for them too!

  2. Jani permalink
    December 5, 2014 4:23 pm

    No instructions? Realy don’t even know how to start!

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

