Skip to content

Project Eight: How to Make Your Own Labels

January 26, 2011

I have just used my last Monarch Label, and need to make some more, so thought it would be a good opportunity to share how I make them here.

It’s only been recently, as I have found myself sewing things for other people more and more, that I thought it might be fun to have my own labels sewn into my products. Of course, you could just order yours form one of the many label companies out there, but I like making my own things, and have an aversion to spending money unnecessarily, so I made my own!

Here’s what you’ll need:

T-shirt transfer printer paper ( I bought mine from W H Smith years ago but you can buy it cheaply on amazon)

A printer

A computer

Cotton tape and/or light coloured ribbon

An iron

 

 

Step One:

Design your label on a suitable computer programme, I just used Word as my label was nothing fancy. Measure your ribbon and make sure your design will fit onto the ribbon.

Step Two:

Copy your design lots of times so you have as many copies as labels you want to make, preferably so you fill up your A4 sheet of transfer paper too, no point in wasting it.

Step Three:

If you have a fancy modern printer, your printer might have an option for you to choose ‘t-shirt transfer paper’ as the paper source. If so, you don’t need to flip your design before printing it, the printer will do this for you.

 

If you don’t have this option, you will need to flip your design before printing it, this is easy enough to do. I did it in Gimp (open source version of photoshop) but there are other programmes that allow you to do this.

Step Four:

Do a test print on normal paper, you don’t want to waste any of the transfer paper due to silly mistakes. Make sure the text prints out flipped, and that the design is small enough to fit on your ribbon.

Step Five:

Once you are happy, go ahead and print your labels.

Step Six:

Cut out your labels to fit the ribbon. I cut as close to my wording as possible.

 

 

 

Step Seven:

Iron the labels onto the ribbon. It is a good idea not to peel off the backing paper until you have ironed on all the labels, so you don’t have to worry about the iron going over the sticky transfer. Once they are all ironed on, you can cut them to size.

 

 

 

Step Eight:

Store them in a nice pretty jar ready to sew into all your creations!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. victoriavolkman permalink
    January 26, 2011 8:46 pm

    Wow! I have wanted to learn how to do this for a couple years and this blog is the ONLY place I’ve found the instructions! Thank you! I really love your blog and am always inspired to dive into new projects after reading it.
    Thanks again and keep up the good work 🙂

  2. January 29, 2011 5:54 pm

    I might just try and transfer a whole poem onto ribbon….endless possibilities!

  3. February 8, 2011 11:50 pm

    Thanks. Have been wanting to do this! The first 8 pictures are not visible. 😦

    • February 9, 2011 7:38 am

      Oh no! Thanks for bringing my attention to that, I will fix the problem now and then hopefully you will be able to see the photos.

  4. October 16, 2011 3:54 pm

    I have just stumbled across your blog. I LOVE it! This is a great money saving tip and fun to do too. I’m going to make some tomorrow 🙂 x

  5. December 31, 2011 7:01 am

    Fab idea x

Trackbacks

  1. Project Ninety Five: A Lovely Pile of Wallets from Old Jeans « so resourceful
  2. Project One Hundred and Two: Making Fabric Business Cards (with tutorial) « so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

