Skip to content

Lovely Little Fabric Birds (with tutorial from Spool)

January 20, 2011

About 18 months ago I stumbled upon this free pattern for making beautiful yet simple little bird softies over at Spool Sewing. I fell in love with them straight away and set to work making some. I had a mad flurry of making them before Christmas 2009 to give people as presents and use as tree ornaments, but only ever made myself one, the striped pink bird that sits on top of my mini chest of drawers at my workstation.

A few months ago I made some more and hung them together using invisible thread. They now hang in the window in my hallway and look so pretty.

I recommend everyone give these birds a try. They are simple and easy to make, and don’t take long either. You can make them in any size and I found little ones are great for using up scraps of material.

Here is the free PDF from Spool Sewing that you can use to make your own little spool birds. Spool Sewing have kindly provided this free pattern for personal use, so please don’t use this pattern for commercial purposes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 6:21 pm

    Hi! Stumbled upon your blog today after my sister reccomended it to me 🙂 I love this bird, it’s so cute. I will have to try some of your crafts soon!

    ~Bette
    Bette’s Classic Movie Blog

  2. March 31, 2011 11:30 pm

    Getting together t his weekend with friends for a bird-making party. Birds of a feather craft together. Thanks for the pattern, will give it a try. Linda

  3. July 17, 2014 2:44 pm

    These are so cute, and I would love to make some, but the Spool site is no longer working. Could you please post the actual pattern? I know that there are more people looking for it, too. Thanks so much!

    • August 25, 2014 5:45 pm

      I don’t have the actual pattern any more, I just assumed I could always get it from Spool! So sad 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Feature | So resourceful: 111 Projects in 2011 (Interview with Rose Holman) | ♥ the creative diarist.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

