Skip to content

Project Two: Dell Inspiron Laptop Case

January 9, 2011

I recently made my sister a carry-case for her new laptop, a blue Dell Inspiron. She asked if I could make it with a separate compartment for the power supply to go in, so I set to work. I thought it would be pretty straightforward, she wanted a bag with a flap closure and a carry handle, so I drew up a plan using standard bag-making techniques.
Here’s the outside of the bag, complete with padding. I quilted it all, following the stripes of the fabric.

I basted the strap onto the inside of the outer bag, lining the strap up with the seams.

Here’s the flap, two pieces sewn together and then top-stitched. I cut the fabric so that the stripes would line up with the stripes on the main body of the bag. In the next photo you can see me sewing the flap to the outside of the bag, with the stripes lined up.

When it came to constructing the inside of the bag, with the two separate compartments, I ran into problems. I had already made the two separate compartments, using black cotton fabric, and interfaced it all, but when it came to attaching them both together, and then attaching them inside the outer bag, I couldn’t for the life of me figure it out.

Finally, after much scratching of my head, experimentation, and swearing, I managed to do it. I folded down the seams and pressed them. Then I got out a needle and thread and resorted to the old-fashioned technique of hand-stitching.

 

 

 

Once I had sewn the two compartments together I put the whole thing inside the outer bag, wrong sides together, and hand stitched the small compartment to the outer bag. Then I could use the machine to sew  the main compartment to the outer bag. It was a relief when finally it was all attached and looked like a proper bag.

I chose a nice big chunky button from my collection for the flap, made the buttonhole, and the bag was complete. I was rather pleased with the end result, it turned out much better than I had expected. My sister loved it and it fit her computer perfectly.

 

 

 

 

Ta Da! I love it when a plan comes together.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 1:19 pm

    Love it!

  2. January 9, 2011 1:55 pm

    Thank you Young Wifey.

  3. Little Sis permalink
    January 13, 2011 11:08 am

    Not only does it look great, it works amzingly well too. And the gift is all that much sweeter now that I know how much effort went in to making it! Thanks again! x

  4. C @ r o L i N e permalink
    January 15, 2011 12:38 am

    Fine workmanship and I adore the Monarch label.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

