Skip to content

2013: The Year I Sort Out my Scrap Fabric Stash

January 23, 2013

A bit late I know, but I have finally decided what my challenge will be for this year. I am going to sort out and use my huge (huge) scrap fabric stash that I have been hoarding and accumulating for years.

I’m pretty sure I have a problem (and I know I’m not alone in this, having lurked on sewing forums). I actually cannot throw away fabric, unless it is literally less than half an inch square, I keep it. I have jars full of tiny scraps, I have boxes full of medium sized scraps, and I have bags and bags and bags full of all the other scraps. I also have a lot of fabric that probably wouldn’t be classed as scraps but is left over from all the sewing I did in 2011 that I really need to sort out.We are in danger of being burried under an avalanche of colourful cotton as piles of folded or scrunched up fabric teeter higher and higher on the workstation and shelves.

So, my aim this year is to not buy any more fabric. Although the thought of not being able to buy any more fabric brings me out in a cold sweat, I know I have to do it. It will be hard, I know, but it will ultimately be worth it. I have run out of places to hide store my fabric, and I have forgotten about the fabric I already own.

My first job is going to be to actually sort out all my fabric, and iron it (maybe). Then I am going to sort all the scraps into three different sizes and cut up all the smaller scraps into 1.5 inch squares for a postage stamp quilt.

I am also going to spend a lot of time browsing Pinterest for ideas on what to use my scraps for. I will try to actually get on with making some of the things I find on Pinterest, instead of just pinning them and getting distracted with pretty pictures.

If anyone has any good ideas or suggestions for what I can make with my scraps please do let me know! I am invisioning lots of patchwork items, definately at least one quilt, but I really don’t want to end up with hundreds of little pincushions of fabric bookmarks!

What do you do with your scraps? And do you have any clever tips for sorting and organsing them? And do you want to come over and iron them for me? I’m off to Pinterest to do more pinning…

Some photos of my scraps, so you can see just how serious the situation has become:

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2013 10:30 pm

    Crazy quilt squares! I started making them between Christmas and New Years and I can’t stop! Great way to use up some of the smaller pieces. I’m doing 6 inch squares myself.

    • January 24, 2013 7:02 am

      Shell how do you make crazy quilt squares? Sounds good!

      • January 24, 2013 9:12 pm

        If you go to my blog (Little Orphan Skein), you can see some examples of the ones I’ve done. What I do is pick a fabric to be the center, and cut it usually to a 5 sided piece. Sew it down to the center of a square piece of muslin (i start at 7 inch square). Then take small pieces/strips of other fabrics and work my way around, sewing each piece to the center piece and overlapping a previous piece. Work my way out to the edges of the muslin. Then trim down to 6 1/2″ square, sew around the edges about 1/8-1/4 inch in to keep it from fraying too badly if I’m going to do embroidery.

        I’m addicted to making these squares. So far I’ve been fairly random with them, but I have a good start on at least 3 different quilted wall hangings with what I have so far.

        Good luck and have fun!
        Shell

      • January 24, 2013 10:39 pm

        Thank you shell, I shall take a look at your blog for inspiration and maybe make some!

  2. January 23, 2013 11:11 pm

    Good luck! I look forward to seeing what delights are made from your stash.

  3. January 24, 2013 8:49 am

    The only advice I’ve got is to get one of those nylon pop up laundry basket to bung all of the smaller scraps in. It’s no easier to sort them out but at least they are all in one place!! Good luck – I look forward to being inspired to sort mine out :-)

  4. January 24, 2013 10:03 am

    Well… http://recreationsproject.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/tutorial-diy-cheerleader-pom-poms/

    Over the past year, we’ve made pom poms, scrap wreaths, fly curtains and dozens of metres of scrap bunting. The sad news? We still have too many scraps…

    • January 24, 2013 10:38 pm

      I think scraps actually breed, so you can never actually be free of all your scraps!

  5. January 24, 2013 6:47 pm

    Good Luck!! I also get overwhelmed when I reorganize but it feels so good after its done! Can’t wait to see how well it goes ;)

  6. May 8, 2013 1:04 pm

    Several years ago I listed all my sewing patterns by how much material they needed and used that to help me identify items to make with my scraps. But I ended up with more tissue holders than I could use!

    Good luck, I’ll enjoy seeing what you produce.

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

